Being Sensible

This week there has been two occasions where I have been sensible, if there had been three you would have heard about it on the BBC and the day would be declared a Bank Holiday. Sorry, two was all I could manage.

Occasion Number 1 :- I booked my train tickets to get me to and from London for the marathon. Marathons number three, four and five I have driven to and from the events, four hours driving home after running 26.2 miles, is not a great cool down! Even my Mum expressed surprise at my sensibleness. May be this means I am now officially a grown up! Of course since then I have heard there might be a tube strike that day, but I’ve done my part!

Occasion Number 2 :- The long run had to move to Saturday this week due to taxi duties for Madam tomorrow. I had planned on a long off road run along the coastal path. Then I saw this

IMG_3729

running along the cliffs on my own in that would have been madness. Instead I opted for lesser madness and did 14 miles on the flooded lanes of Devon, with conditions that resembled running in to a pressure washer most of the time. Oh and that water not only is very orange is also damn cold.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Marathon Training, Marathons, Running, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Being Sensible

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Sharon that was crazy! On your own? Pleased you got through it unscathed! X well done girl!!!!

    • shazruns says:

      Hubby was on stand by to rescue me if. Need be! If water was deeper than waist he said to call the coast guard! Glad I made it without calling him out, the worrying part was the tree debris, amazing how much worse the conditions were on way home two hours later!

  2. Steph says:

    Definitely a good move on the London Marathon front! We drove straight home after father-in-law ran it last year, and even though we hadn’t run it, I was very stiff after having been on my feet. I don’t think it helped father-in-law too much either.

    Isn’t the water lovely?! I had to pick my car up from Exeter (poorly car), and as I was coming home, literally all of the fields on our side of the M5 are now lakes. I can only imagine how muddy and wet parkrun was this morning.

  3. runtezza says:

    Wow — dedicated training effort. Would not fancy wading through a long run of that!

  4. Oh my goodness…I just can’t imagine running in all that water. Truly inspired by your dedication Shaz! You deserve a big fat PB at the marathon!

  5. That’s dedication. What makes the water orange? Isn’t clay?

  6. plustenner says:

    that looks tough.. you are truly hardcore

Leave a Reply

