Formula for a good weekend

An unexpected parkrun pb, Sunday afternoon run across the Devon countryside in the sunshine, sandwiching a visit from a friend involving shopping, eating of pizza and a visit to the cinema, yes it was good but busy weekend!

Saturday Madam opted for the flatter local parkrun and who am I to object to that? It was a cold morning, with icy cold wind, as we stood by the canal waiting for the start. The teenager was teenagerish, after all to be out of bed, at that time of a Saturday morning in the cold is enough, it would truly be a miracle for a smile to occur also! Exeter involves one large loop and as we set off I thought, wow this is warmer than I thought it would be, then we went across the canal and I changed my mind. Boy that wind was blowing right down the canal. It got a whole lot worse though, at the turnaround point and we headed back to the finish-in to that wind. Safe to say by the time we got to the finish we were wide awake. I was pleased with my time considering the conditions, but even more pleased when the results came in and found this was a course PB, by 34 seconds, a pleasant surprise.

Sunday’s long run was postponed till company had left, I spent most of the morning looking at the clear blue sky sunshine, wishing I could be out enjoying it and must admit got slightly grumpy as it started to cloud over just as I was able to head out. As would luck would have it though it brightened again and it was a lovely run, 12 miles mostly off road.

Quickly learnt though that beneath the seemingly harmless looking piles of leaves could lurk a bog!

blog 4

I am sure my squeals could be heard in Dorset as I tried not to disappear completely in the hidden quagmire.

Great weekend, great running, set me up nicely for the week, such a shame that I have to work!

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Marathon Training, Marathons, parkrun, Photography, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Formula for a good weekend

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Oh wow! That all sounds do lovely! Your long run looks/sounds just the best!!!! AND A PB? Your are on a roll ShazPops!!!!! Go girl!!!! XxxX

  2. Nicely done!

    An unexpected (P)ath (B)og.

    Got to love them 🙂

  3. mawil1 says:

    Looks like my kind of running conditions! Congratulations on the PB! The longer you run the harder it is to get one isn’t it? Or is that just me lol!!

  4. That is a fantastic PB Shaz, very well done x

  5. Steph says:

    Well done your your PB! Great job – especially in that cold!

  6. oscardiamond says:

    Excellent parkrun result. Wonderful terrain for a long run. Great!

Leave a Reply

