Running is Dangerous- FACT

Those of you who think running is dull and without danger think again.

Sunday morning was bright and cold, a perfect morning for a long run. I had studied the map and plotted a new route. Thankful for the clocks going back and that extra hour we headed out for our mostly off road run, before 7 am.

The grass was wet and frosty so we soon had damp toes, the chill in the air meant long sleeve tops were dug out for their first wearing in a while.

I had memorised the route so all was good, of course it might be idea now to tell you, my memory is USELESS!

We came to a field, with some curious cows in it, but whilst we searched for a way out of the field we were relieved to see the bovines were sectioned off and although they were intimidating us by watching our every move, we were safe. After doubling back and checking the direction of the footpath arrow we found the way to go. Over the narrowest stile ever we crossed in to the adjoining field. For some reason this seemed to upset the cows nextdoor and they all starting mooing. This field also had cows and we were not so lucky as they were loose, three at the bottom of the field started heading towards us, one at the top of the field was busy with his lady friend. Time to move quickly to the gate at the far corner.

However, disaster struck, the bull stopped his erm well he stopped, we clearly had put him off and his lady friend wandered away. By this time I was close to him, he turned and looked at me, the gate teasingly just beyond him. He started swaying his head back and forth and hoofing (pawing?!) at the ground, being a city gal, it did not occur to me that this was something to be worried about! Running buddy fortunately is a farmer’s daughter and this voice came from behind me “I don’t like the look of him”. I stopped assessed the alternatives. Retreating was not an option, the cows from the bottom of the field were now behind us. To our right was a hedge. We opted for the safe route of scaling the barbed wire fence, the whole time keeping our eye on the bull. Once over the fence we were away and although there were cows in this field they were the eating grass kind not the ‘I’m going to kill you kind’!

Phew, the rest of the run was very pleasant.

That night whilst watching country file they were doing a feature on what colours animals can see. Apparently the red thing with bulls is a myth. They are more likely to be upset by bright colours, like yellow and blue, so that long sleeve top I was wearing was yellow and running buddy had blue on, I think we had a lucky escape.

Running is dangerous, FACT.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Running is Dangerous- FACT

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    That made me giggle!!!!! Xxx

  2. momof3 says:

    You didn’t take pics of the passionate bull?

  3. ctrbeth says:

    Holy cow! 🐮(Sorry. I just had to!)

  4. Giggles 🙂 I’d be wary of that bull too.

  5. I think every runner has had a frightening experience with cows. They are clever, scheming creatures.
    If they just ran straight to you, you’d realise you’re in trouble and escape by means of retreat… But no. They sidle around, pretending to eat grass or impregnate each other until you have passed the point of the field where you are committed. They then slowly cut off your retreat and dare you to question whether a quick walk or full sprint is the safest option to the next exit.
    I think you were very lucky!

  6. Yikes! Glad you got out okay.

Leave a Reply

