Great West Run part two

Today was the Great West Run which like the Great North Run is a half marathon, but unlike the GNR it is in the West!

The plan was to learn from my mistakes done at Cardiff (starting too fast) It is very tricky to run a slow first mile when it is down hill so not sure I managed this, in fact the first mile was very fast but like I say was down hill!

The run itself did not feel a slog like Cardiff did, but it was tough. For those of us from the flatlands it is HILLY, but by Devon standards it is undulating. The toughest hill at mile 8 and a tough slight up, slight down, slight up, slight down at miles 10 to 13 which actually you can do without. The inclines played havoc with my pace and in the end I stopped Garmin watching and tried just to run happy.

(Running happy was inspired by the lovely Annie over in Tasmania she always runs happy something I struggle with, so I tried to think of her and slapped a smile on my face when the miles got tough)

Was lovely to see Giselle who glided effortlessly by me at mile 5. She went on to get a great time on a tough course, so well done to her, also to Rachel whom I did not see, but also did well. The cheek of these bloggers running well on my patch!

The miles passed in a blur and that was not due to my speed I can tell you.

I finished the run, a minute slower that Cardiff, not as fast as I wanted too (when is it ever?) but 5 minutes faster than the last time I ran it, I will take that!  Half Marathon number 7 done.

Don’t base your happiness on your finishing time’– no I am not going to do that, I will base it on running a tough course, getting to the end, running happy and finishing strong.

After the finish line I looked up and made eye contact with another runner-a total stranger, who mouthed ‘well done’ to which I mouthed back ‘and you’ it was a special moment. The struggle of those 13 miles will fade, but the silent exchange with the runner will live with me forever.

I love the bag and may keep it forever. 13.1 Done.

I love the bag and may keep it forever. 13.1 Done.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Bloggers, Great West Run, half marathon, Half Marathon Training, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Great West Run part two

  1. winsometahn says:

    Really great job Shaz. Love the medal – much nicer than the Great Scottish franchise medals.

  2. runtezza says:

    5 minutes off your last time for it is a great achievement 👍

  3. Cool! I had a silent exchange with a stranger… the chap in the car who cut in front of me on the M1 yesterday, but mine was less pleasant.
    Well done 🙂

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    Well done you xxx inspirational!!!

  5. Well done! Love the last paragraph. Little things like that mean a lot.

  6. sudebaker says:

    Great job! I hope you wear that medal around town when you’re out and about this week 🙂

  7. Those hills sound really tough Shaz, very very very well done!!! Five minutes faster than last time is massive!!!!

  8. Steph says:

    Well done! I love things like that at the end – they always make it worth it 🙂

  9. Great job Shaz and a wonderful improvement. It’s not about the times it’s about the accomplishment. 🙂

  10. Pingback: I’m Back | fairweatherrunner

Leave a Reply

