Cardiff Half Marathon Part Three Done

  
For those of you living in Outer Mongolia, the Rugby World Cup is currently taking place. The Welsh love their rugby and I love what they have built in to Cardiff Castle wall, how neat is that.

Anyway Saturday I drove to Cardiff, this year I had booked a hotel, to prevent the 5 am rise that would be necessary to get there in time. Originally we were going as a family, then Madam wanted to do the fun run so it was decided just her and I would go. Then Madam fell ill, so it was a lonely drive up!

Once there and parked, it was off to join Alma, Carla and Sue, three lovely ladies that I would not have known without blogging, it’s been two years since I have seen them, so it was fantastic to catch up. 

Then it was off to Travelodge for me. The hotel was conveniently located on the nightclub strip. Convenient if you are in to clubbing, not so great for sleeping ahead of a 13.1 mile run. Fortunately my room was located at the back of the third floor and I heard did not hear anything from the clubbers.

Under the circumstances I had a good nights sleep, the warm room not helping my body’s ability to go from cold to over heating in 30 seconds, so I did the duvet on and off routine all night, but managed to sleep till 7 am.

I headed up to the start at 8 am, my head all over the place. Emotions running high. All the positive thoughts out of the window. All I could think was I had no business being there, this aging woman, with the less than Paula Radlciffeesque physique should have stayed home.

Baggage drop done, port o loo visited, then it was time for the off.

I had a plan. The plan was to run the first two miles at a good pace to get ‘time in the tank’ and to give me confidence that I could attain a ‘good for Shaz’ time. The first two miles went well, I managed the required pace. Then it was time to rein it in a bit for the next 12 miles. Erm this part did not work so well! Things went badly at mile 10 really. I felt cold (not due to going slow, thanks Mum though for suggesting this!) I was goose bumpy and the legs decided they had had enough. From then on it was a slog, not helped by a couple of inclines, it took all my mental stubbornness not to walk.

The end came, four minutes later than I wanted, four minutes later than last year, but four minutes earlier than Cardiff Half the first.

Things I have learnt 

  • I need another plan for the next half in two weeks time
  • My Garmin helps me when I am running well, but hinders me when things go pear shaped 
  • Pack my own drink for after the run Β£3 is a stupid amount of money to spend on an orange juice 
  • Getting my head in shape needs to be a priority 
  • Last year when I ran Cardiff I wast training for a marathon, my long runs need to be longer.
  • Watching Cardiff nightlife is better than any reality show ever
  • Blogging has brought some great running friends in to my life (to be fair I knew this already, but meeting up just reinforced it!)
  • Doing my best does not always meet my goal, I need to be satisfied with my best. 
  • A meringue can be too big

  
Another t shirt and medal for my collection, so all not lost, onward and upward, Great West Run training coming up!

   
 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Half Marathon Training, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Cardiff Half Marathon Part Three Done

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    I THINK YOU DID BLOODY BRILLIANTLY!!!!!! Wow!!!! 4minutes / schminnnnnnutes!!!
    You just ran a HALF MARATHON!!!
    Congrats on finishing and don’t be so hard on yourself darling! It takes guts and you have heaps! I am so proud of you!!!!
    Double that Bacardi tot Mr Wells!!!!
    *mwah* *mwah*
    Sleep well!!!!
    Ps LOVE mums comment… Only a mum could get away with that!!!!
    Pps OMF! I need a merengue like THAT!!!!

  2. Maybe you were running so fast, you hadn’t taken the wind-chill factor into consideration.

    How’s about that Shaz’s Mum?!

    Running stuff aside now… what excellent brick color matching, eh?

  3. momof3 says:

    the medal should be the size of the meringue, given your gallant effort!

  4. runtezza says:

    Well done Shaz — hope you told that lot to get back on their blogs. Awesome medal, looks like cyberman/dalek hybrid with a nod to Botticelli’s Venus.

  5. Diana says:

    Good for you!! Another notch in your belt!!

  6. sudebaker says:

    Yay! I’m with you on getting the head in shape. I’ve discovered it’s not easy to race on your own. But you did it. You got a medal and meringue πŸ™‚
    Awesome!

  7. Lots of positive there lovely Shaz. How cool to run with some blogging friends, that is a treasure and so wonderful! I agree with you about the head stuff. That really is the key, the physical training takes us so far and then it’s up to the heart and mind to get us there. And the great thing with running is that there is always next time! I keep thinking I’m 50, how many more ‘next times’ will there be and then some lady in her 60s zooms by and I can’t help but smile and laugh. You did a great job and just finishing is always a massive achievement!!!

  8. Steph says:

    Well I think you’re bloody marvellous! And that meringue is amazing! (if not slightly sickly feeling inducing). Hope Madam is feeling better and you’re recovering ok!

  9. plustenner says:

    was absolutely brilliant to see you xx

  10. winsometahn says:

    Great run and brilliant medal (I would travel halfway across the country for that!).

Leave a Reply

