Taking the Or Option

We got back from our holiday last Sunday night. Monday morning, came all too soon, school and work beckoned. 

If this was not hard enough I decided to make it worse for myself by a) opening my pension plan letter that stated I have to work another 17 years and they predict that at the end of that time I will have tuppence to live on! Joyous news! B) attending a metafit class.

Meta what I hear you ask.

Well it is an exercise class, the aim of which is to give your metabolic rate a workout, the thing that attracted to me was that it is only half an hour AND it’s not a dance class where I need to know my left and  right and remember complex moves. Easy right? Mmmmm

There was lots of jumping, lots of squatting but I must admit it was fun, short bursts of activity followed by the much needed recovery period.

But my it was tough, so tough that I’m not sure how I managed the drive home with my jelly legs and those jelly legs went out for a 5 mile very slow run as per training plan at lunch time, in fact it was the slowest run EVER.

Tuesday morning dawned and I ached EVERYWHERE, in fact breathing hurt. The half marathon training plan said ‘3 mile easy run or rest’ I did the or option!

Wednesday morning the pain was there but had moved down my legs, lowering myself on to the toilet involved grasping the sink and hoping I did not pull it off the wall. I still ran though because I am hardcore/stupid!

Seriously there must be easier ways of boosting my metabolic rate- drugs may be- all I know is that I have never ached so much in my life, thank goodness work sent me to Truro on Monday this week, god help me next Monday.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Half Marathon Training, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Taking the Or Option

  1. I understand that achy feeling but usually mine comes after a 20 mile run. I’m always surprised when a new exercise causes so much pain but it’s fun to try new stuff every once and a while.

  2. I’m hearing you on the whole DOMS things. And as for working for another 17 years I know what you mean there too, I have this terrible feeling that a year before retirement they’ll up the retirement age to 90 or something ridiculous…

  3. winsometahn says:

    Just think how much less it will hurt next time…hopefully anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

