Portugal Day Six (Wednesday)

We have had the most amazing day. Today we went to Sintra to the Palacio National de Pena. Thanks go to Canada for the recommendation and I hope this post brings back some memories for her! X
What an amazing, curious, fascinating place

  
 It is a cross between a German Castle, Disney Castle and a Spanish Palace. I love a turret and there was plenty here.

   
   
The detail was incredible, the craftsmanship in the stone work and the tiling was something else.

   
  
Every window on the front was different, I think I could go back tomorrow and spot something new.

  

Inside was the same, every room filled with the most ornate furniture and decor, the “less is more” thinking was not used here that is for sure. Over the top at its very finest. Four lamps like the one below were made especially for the Ballroom 

  
Check out this chandelier wouldn’t you love one just like it?! 

  
 
I loved it all.

After the castle was the gardens, giving great views over to the Palace 

  

Then came the icing on the cake – a Tuk Tuk ride- the driver likened it to a video game-not sure about that, but it was great fun. I thought Taxi drivers were mad, well Tuk Tuk drivers are CRAZY!

  
 
I have many more photos I could share but after a stressful 48 hours uploading pics to this post, I will quit here. Prepare for a post moaning about technology next week in which WordPress will feature majorly! Grrr

Diana – hope you enjoyed reading and huge thanks for the recommendation, an great day out. X

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Portugal Day Six (Wednesday)

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    OH WOW!!! how kewl… it looks, Gothic, Moorish, Romanesque, Ionic, Elizabethan… just everything!!!! wow, a real treat for the senses!!!
    THERE is NOTHING like Sky Broadband *lol* how could we live without it! When we go to Madeira we do anthing we need on the internet between 08h00 and 17h00, the whole internet gets slowed down after that… MOST annoying! 🙂

  2. Diana says:

    Glad you enjoyed the day!

Leave a Reply

