Portugal Day One

For those of you who don’t want to read about my holiday, tune out for the next 10 days, after which normal service eg me running, moaning about running and all it entails will resume. This blog is for the relics left behind in sunny ( ?!!!) Devon house and pet sitting and for my friend in Canada to hopefully brighten her convalescence! XX

We arrived in Lisbon late last night after a lengthy trip brought about by a return to Bristol after being in the air for half an hour due to a hydraulic leek! I had visions of being stuck for hours but in the end only a two hour delay, apologies to those traveling to Spain, whose plane we ended up using!

Today we opted for the hop on hop off open top bus tour. Surely the best way to see a city and save your feet. Our bus took us out to Belem to the Tower

  
Where we managed to successfully avoid buying a selfie stick, Pandora (?!!) charms, lovely black shawls (clearly needed in this heat) and sunglasses – have never been touted so much! 

Loved seeing the “Monument to the Discoveries’, amazing monument with incredible detail

  
I am loving Lisbon. I love the mixture of old and new, (traditional tiled buildings right next to modern ones), tatty and smart (run down pizza joint right next to shop selling designer shoes and handbags). I love the tiles, the path designs, not loving the unevenness of the paths-did a Mo Farah and saved myself from a potentially awful fall today-but only just, but on the upside managed to provide some amusement to a passing stranger in the process!

   
    
   
Although we caught the bus we also did a lot of walking, so much so that I think I must be 2 inches shorter and I have declared today a rest day from running. 

Favourite photo taken today….

  

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Photography, Portugal, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Portugal Day One

  1. Wow looks great, I’m looking forward to the holiday blog posts. I can’t believe that you can just hop on a plane and be in Portugal so quickly. It’s such a novelty to think that from way down south where I am. I hope you all have a wonderful time!

  2. Ooo looks lovely. Looking forward to reading the upcoming updates.

  3. Great photos of Lisbon!

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    Oh how gorgeous!!! You are going to have to go to Madeira next… If you love Lisbon, Madeira will steal your heart x GORGEOUS PiCS!!!!

  5. Diana says:

    And your Canadian friend appreciates seeing your pics!

Leave a Reply

