Interval Training

Interval training appears on most training plans, no matter what the distance is that you are training for. The current plan I am using for the two October half marathons is no different. Oh how I dread these sessions. Not just for the sheer effort involved, but also for the complexity of some of the sessions. 

Last weeks schedule stated “warm up, then 8 x 90 secs fast, 90 secs slow”, now even with my limited mental ability I could grasp what was needed to be done BUT how to keep track on which 90 secs you were in? The thought of counting on in 90″s or even in 1.5″s filled me with terror. Then I remembered the app I had installed on my phone ages ago. I fired up the aptly named “IntervalTimer” used my IT Technician skills, programmed it accordingly and off I went. 

Wow it worked really well. It makes a different noise at the beginning of each interval, the slow one had a ships horn start you off, followed by a bell at the end to indicate the start of speed. You can glance at the phone to see how many seconds are left to go during an interval and at this point the screen is green or red to confirm if it’s a slow or fast segment, for those like me who loose track easily! This time I ran holding my phone but I think if it put in my pocket like normal I could still hear it. Great little FREE app, certainly takes the guess and brain work out of an interval session, if only it could help my legs also!

Here is a photo of a Maize field for all you scary movie watchers, fortunately when I look at it I just think “Field of Dreams’

  
Still trying to work out why I chose a 6 day a week training plan. 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Half Marathon Training, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interval Training

  1. Get you – little miss technology with your apps and stuff!
    I’m paying a visit to ‘sunny’ Devon at the moment.
    I might even put my wetsuit on and go for a run in a bit 😉

    • shazruns says:

      Oh the weather has changed now what a shame, Monday and Tuesday were nice though! Hope you are park running on Saturday-sadly I can’t as doing a 10k at Budliegh Salterton! Enjoy your puddle splashing.

  2. Intervals are tough, good on you Shaz.

Leave a Reply

