Well that was a first

I have been running with the club for over a year now, during that time I have covered varying terrain with them. There has been fields with cows, fields with sheep, fields with horses. Underfoot it has been boggy, rocky, tufty, gloopy, marshy. There has been woods with pine needles underfoot, there has been beach runs with stones underfoot, there has been roads with pot holes to dodge. We have run through farms, farmyards, private gardens, streams. There has been stepping stones, bridges, rickety bridges, bridges that move oh and every  single kind of stile you can imagine, broken ones, tall ones, narrow ones, steep ones, shallow ones. Then there has been the vegetation, we have waded through nettles, been pulled at by brambles, had long grass slice our legs but last night we had a first.

Last night we went through a field of maize (please notice I don’t use the word ‘run’), it might have been okay if we were going round the edge of the field, but no as luck would have it the path was going right though the middle! The corn on the cob at this time of the year is  over 6 foot high. As we snaked through the field I was terrified I would loose sight of the person in front of me, fearing I would and could be stuck in there for days! It was hard work negotiating our way between the stalks, the corn was not quite ready otherwise I might have been tempted to sneak a couple for dinner.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Well that was a first

  1. “tufty, gloopy”… that is a combo I never want to encounter under any circumstances!

  2. Getting lost in a corn field is one of my crazy irrational fears. I could never! Not that i live near corn or fields. Good job making it out. šŸ˜‰

  3. iwalkicycle says:

    Isn’t there a Stephen King novel where part of it is set in a similar field? It made scary reading, can imagine your fear!

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    Yup… Children Of The Corn… Scarred me for life!

  5. iwalkicycle says:

    Me too CeeJay! I stopped reading him after that!

  6. runtezza says:

    Sounds amaizing (geddit?). Sorry about the corny joke šŸø

  7. paigesato says:

    when did cornfields become a “thing” in the UK? they scare the daylights out of me. Too ‘children of the corn’ and not enough ‘field of dreams.’

Leave a Reply

