Family Day

Sunday was earmarked for family time. With athletic events (madam’s), running (me) and hubby’s interests we don’t spend much time together the three of us. As Madam and I had been away the previous weekend, it was time to make the time.

When your 13 year old asks to revisit a walk and we have previously done you seize the chance with both hands as it is a very rare occasion indeed. (The child will run miles, both off and on a track, but ask her to walk upstairs sometimes or to the local shop and my you are asking too much.) So off we set Sunday morning to East Portlemouth in south Devon, through some very narrow lanes.

Our walk was along the cliff tops with fabulous views

DSCN1451 DSCN1452 DSCN1456

Midway through the walk we had a refreshment stop for the obligatory cider and sit to enjoy the scenery.

We then caught the boat across to Salcombe and had a wander among the streets admiring the views, the expensive cars, the yachts, the shop windows and the boutiquey stores. We inhaled the smell of fudge being made, before opting for a Devon Pasty sitting on the harbour wall being careful not to feed the seagulls. It was a nice day out.

The half marathon training continues having sourced a training plan, the running continues, admittedly not always per training plan. We are still swimming and I am amazing myself by how much I am not hating it!

Summer holidays continue, but I do wish the weather would pick up a bit, Madam and I want to get to the beach.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Half Marathon Training, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Family Day

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    i sent a comment…its gone *frown*

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    grrr… WP gremlins! I was saying… If my 14yr old asked to do anything vaguely sporty the bloody iceage would kick in and we would be snowed in!!!! GO MADAM!!!!! the scenery is GORGEOUS!!!! and oh what i would do for a beach!!!!
    enjoy Shaz… get that spare room ready i am coming to visit!

  3. Looks, and sounds, like a great day out. It’s really nice around that part of the coast.

  4. That looks like a perfect family day, Shaz, very special.

Leave a Reply

