9 days to go

Sunday is the day of the ‘long run’, but not today, time to work on speed, time to go from tortoise to slightly fast tortoise, time for a football field sprint session. 6 x 200 metres fast, with active recovery (gasping, panting, plodding back to start line) I tried to work on my form, a sure sign I have been reading too many running magazines.

  • Mid foot strike – don’t think I heel strike any way when speeding
  • Relaxed arms, using them to propel – rather than the hunched up neck disappearing trick I usually do
  • Longer strides – better than the two step shuffle 
  • Knees up – helps prevent me from tripping over also

Juneathon activities Day 21

  • 2.5 min plank
  • 150 squats
  • 2.5 miles run session

Back in 2011 I wrote a blog about my Dad on Father’s Day in June here, so a lot has been said before so suffice to say Happy Father’s Day Dad,

  
Clearly those dashing good looks came my way, along with the curls and the freckles, but it could have been so much worse, I could have got those ears too! 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 9 days to go

  1. winsometahn says:

    Your dad was an Olympian?! No wonder you’re proud. I’m seriously impressed!
    I’m also impressed (and possibly inspired by) at your interval session – great job!

  2. The old relic says:

    Message from Dad – this is the stolen half of a photo!! What’s wrong with Taxi Doors!!

  3. plustenner says:

    2.5 minute plank! you are a legend

  4. runtezza says:

    Great photo so hang on to it — and thanks for the link back to the 2011 post so I could read it, and my comment, again!

Leave a Reply

