Moonwalk 2015

Saturday afternoon Madam and I jumped on the train and headed to London. We are very luck that there is a station in the village and three hours later without changing trains we are in London. On arrival at the Hotel, my priority was to have a cat nap, knowing that walking 15 miles was going to be tough but I would find the ‘no sleep’ aspect of it tougher! I managed my 40 winks but Madam did not!

After changing we headed out in search of dinner. Like all athletes we headed to the nearest fast food outlet which happened to be KFC to fuel. It was clear that it was not just the MoonWalk that was happening locally, masses of students were dressed as characters mostly to do with space, we saw Buzz Lightyear, star trekkers, Minions and OOmpa Loompas though I am still trying to work out how the latter fitted in the category. We had a fun time spotting them all, admiring the costumes.  As we sat consuming our low fat, healthy dinner a man came and sat on our table. He asked what we were doing, intrigued I think to see if we were involved somehow with the students event. I explained why there was so many women around dressed similarly, same t-shirt, baseball hat etc. He asked if we were collecting money and I told him we had raised some money already for Breast cancer. At this point he started digging in his pocket, I realised he was going to give me a donation, but was totally unprepared for the £10 note he passed over to me. I tried not to take it, telling him it was too much and he should not give that much money to a stranger. He insisted he trusted me and that I take it, I cried and thanked him. I was stunned by his generosity and trust, this started the evening off the right way.

The Moonwalk this year started from Clapham Common and the pink tent soon came in to view, there was no missing it. Meeting up with our friends was not too difficult, but would have been a nightmare without a mobile phone. Madam was pleased to see her Essex school friend who she had not seen in two years. We were walking with the lovely Madam M, her mother and experience full Moonwalker Mrs M and a friend/ex relative of mine!

IMG_2476

The Big Pink Tent

At 10 0’clock we headed out of the lovely pink tent to the not so lovely blue port-a-loos. In half an hour we were off, I was so pleased to be off early, this meant I would get to my bed sooner! The mile 1 marker came round pretty quick, the girls set the pace, walking fast and talking non-stop, oh yes they are females! London is beautiful at night and we passed lots on the sights, The Shard, Houses of Parliament, The London Eye, The Globe, and Buckingham Palace. Then of course we passed the London nightlife, there was the drunk staggering out from the pub lurching towards us with his legs not seeming to belong to his body, and the women holding her dog under one arm, hitting her make companion with her other arm whilst spouting a torrent of abuse (got to love a multi-tasking woman).  We met many lovely people on the way, some walking, some just crossing the road with us and of course a big shout out to all those volunteers standing out in it all night. The atmospehere is always amazing.

The girls both begun to suffer at about 12 miles which was a shame because usually that would mean only one tough mile to go, but with the extended route we had another three to go. This is where the dynamics got interesting, Madam M retreated to walk along side her Mum, my Madam however retreated in to her shell and kept the speed up for a while working on that runner’s theory that the quicker you move the sooner the agony will be over.

We completed the 15.1 miles in 3 hours 50 minutes finishing before 2:30 am. So proud of our Madam’s who were absolute troopers, not one moan between them. When the going got tough they just kept going. They must have been the youngest walkers as are both only 13 years old, and we were one of the first back to the Pink tent. Granted we started at the front, but we held that position and a great pace all the way.

No running for me for a while, though Madam with her younger, slimmer fitter body tells me she will go to training tomorrow!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in London Moon Walk 2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Moonwalk 2015

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    omg… i just wront a lovely long reply… *lol* comment gremlin must have thought “nah CJ” and just cleared it!!!! pah!
    WELL DONE! bloody hell 15 miles is FAR… and in a GREAT time too! wow!!!
    WHATCHA MEAN NO RUNNING???? *big eyes*

  2. paigesato says:

    what a cool event, and for a good cause, and to have it start with such a good omen (the donation) is icing on the cake!

  3. plustenner says:

    well done !!!

  4. Well done! Love the medal too. 🙂
    – Kirsten (The Blog Runner &
    Virtual Running UK)

  5. Somehow missed this post from before but had to comment… The donation from a stranger it’s great.
    Sometimes you just have to trust, right? Glad he trusted you not to spend it on a zinger burger meal. (You didn’t did you?)

Leave a Reply

