The Shard

My first week as a 50-year-old my feet did not touch the ground.

I went from surprise family visit, to Bristol, a night out with running buddies, the Isle of Wight, from there to Teddington to stay with my oldest friend (technically not my oldest friend but known for most years but as she is older than me I like to call her my oldest friend!), then a 2 hour visit to Sweathshop, followed by a trip up The Shard, a Bushy parkrun, a wedding and home!

Let me tell you about The Shard for those of you not in the know, it is Europe’s tallest building with a height of 1,016 feet (310 meters), offering 360 degree views of London. This is The Shard

DSCN1276Now can you see the gap on the right hand side at the top and then the line just below this? Well I was up there. No big deal right? Well let me tell you I HATE heights, my knees shake going up a ladder, I famously went up the Spinnaker Tower in Portsmouth lasted 30 seconds and descended in the next lift crying! The Shard is something I have always wanted to do as I love London, but knew it would have to be handled carefully. Fortunately oldest friend was made aware of my fears and knew I might just sink to my knees sobbing and promised not to be embarrassed!

Well I made it. I did not love it, but I did it. The first half an hour was spent clinging to the wall in the middle looking out the side windows, I was unable to turn my head to look directly out in front of me! Eventually I got brave and edged towards the window much the same way as an old person would shuffle with a zimmer frame, but not once did I look directly down or touch the window! The day was cloudy but sill the view is immense.

From there we went to Borough Market walked around admiring the offerings, more on that another day.

I have only run once since Bushy parkrun, and that was with club Wednesday night, my legs are not happy with life and I have spent most of the week trying to work out why. I have come to the conclusion that I was so stressed up the Shard that I spent my time up there with slightly bent legs, this has resulted in aching upper legs. Ever over done squats? Well that is what my legs feel like, am hoping by tomorrow they are better, for tomorrow I walk 15 miles with Madam, in aid of Breast Cancer.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in London Moon Walk 2015, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Shard

  1. Thought you said the bard!! Images came to mind…

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Wow! Busy busy!!! Hmm heights… Also not a fan of heights 🙂 so get your fear but the pics are awesome!!!! Best of luck for your walk xxx enjoy enjoy xxx

  3. winsometahn says:

    Great photos of the Shard and from the Shard! You were very brave!

  4. Great job at facing your fear and love the photos. Sounds like a fabulous extended birthday week 🙂

  5. plustenner says:

    brilliant weekend!

Leave a Reply

