Isle of Wight

My work entails travelling sometimes. Not so much since we moved to Devon, but I have been all over the UK. Some locations have left a lot to be desired, some hotels even more so. There was the motel literally on the A1, another whose room door would not lock, another hotel where the reception man would not have looked out of place with a bolt through his neck and then of course the last one that had thick mildew around the window along with a room temperature similar to that of an igloo.

Rooms are booked for us and are very much the budget variety. So when I heard I was going to the Isle of Wight I requested a sea view room (with tongue in cheek) and I did not in a million years believe I would get one. I was very pleasantly surprised to walk in to a room with this, not one but two sea views!

I always pack my running kit and have run in many lovely places when I have been away, Sefton park was lovely but unnerving with its many floral tributes for those that have died there, North Yorkshire was lovely along by the river, Southampton lovely along a disused canal, yes the runs have always been good unlike the Hotels! Today however with 45 mph wind, running was not an option, instead I braved a walk from the hotel in to Cowes. Not as easy as it sounds with scenes such as these

I could only get so far and then with the option of continue and get wet feet or get washed out to sea or find an alternative route. I opted for the later! Found a footpath and followed it

DSCN1222

Once on the path it was sheltered and that was most welcome. Up the path I went out on to a street with some very nice houses and along there I went till I found another path leading back down to the sea and then in to Cowes, for some window shopping and general exploring.

I had a lovely time wandering snapping pics

In Cowes I got the impression that the wind had died down. This was not the case. as I soon found out when I headed back to the hotel. It was a real battle to stay on my feet even with all my ballast, thank goodness I am not built like Paula Radcliffe or I would have been in the sea or worse France!

DSCN1223

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Photography, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Isle of Wight

  1. paigesato says:

    oh, such great pics! I love work travel when I’m able to get a run in.

  2. Wild weather. Love it.

    Great pics as always. 🙂

  3. Moritz says:

    What a great view out of your room! I also always pack my running stuff. Running on trips is so enjoyable!

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    LOVE it… such kewl pics, looks blustery but beautiful! i would LOVE to visit the Isle of Wight!!!

    I am off to Paris for work end of June… 5 days… CANNOT wait! this time i WILL run along the river! Will be staying ON the river opp. Norte Dame, so i have NO excuse this time!
    Wanna come with? 😉

  5. Looks so rough! I don’t like the description of many of the places you’ve stayed Shaz, but this one looks like it makes up a bit for the bad hotels. Safe Travels!

Leave a Reply

