Goodbye 45-49 age category

Today was my last parkrun running in the old lady category, next week I move up in to the very old lady category! It was a dismal, dreary morning but this did not deter us hardened 5k runners. 

I wore my Garmin for the first time since the Grizzly injury thing, the first mile was a tad fast, the second a bit slower and the last as usual my slowest. I managed to knock a further 40 secs off the previous weeks time, so happy with that, also with my 4th in age placing with a grading of 60%. I will be really interested to see what my grading is next week.

Madam took the right meds this morning, wore the correct socks and flew round with a massive 49 sec PB, causing the time keeper to suggest a drug test! Average pace of 7:13 per mile, stuff I dream of but my legs and lungs dread!

My Running buddy plus family came along to parkrun, two to support, two to run and as a complete surprise to take my out for pre birthday cake in the National Trust cafe, what a great start to the bank holiday!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Goodbye 45-49 age category

  1. Woah… Madam can MOVE!

    (I took my lad for a 2.5 mile run this morning and it took 35 minutes!)

  2. Oh… And imminent happy Birthday greetings to you!

  3. Happy Birthday to you and enjoy the bank Holiday Weekend. 🙂

  4. rundmach says:

    Happy birthday!!! 🙂

  5. It’s nice to have you join me in the 50 to 54 parkrun category, it’s actually quite a nice category to be in hehe. That means a birthday this week! Happy Birthday dear Shaz xxxx (49 seconds off Madam’s parkrun PB? Best get that prescription and steal her socks! Well done Madam!)

  6. winsometahn says:

    Happy Birthday for this week! I hope it’s a great one. x

  7. Happy Birthday a little late. I hope you had a fabulous day!

  8. Tubontherun says:

    Belated happy birthday! And nice job Madam!

Leave a Reply

