Working to rule

Working from home has many advantages and for the most part is just fine. The biggest draw back is that the work is just there all the time. When we are busy  I have trouble switching off from it and leaving it to the next day. It has been known for me to start work at 6:30 am and still be at it late in the evening having eaten three meals whilst typing! Don’t get me wrong this is self-inflicted, I don’t have a boss that cracks the whip, or deadlines to make. I just think I will start early to make the day easier, then the day gets busy and then the merry-go-round is hard to get off. The last week of term was manic and each day I woke up feeling like I had been hit by a double-decker bus, each day I could have opted to stay in bed, my head hurt so bad. Being a slow learner it took till Friday for me to realise that this might have something to do with long hours on the lap top staring at the screen and concentrating.

Fast forward to back to work this week.

I have decided to work to rule!

Much has been written lately in the press about the danger of long bouts of sitting, so I have decided to not sit for so long each day. This means I am going to take an hour off for lunch every day. (wild and crazy that’s me!) What a great week I have chosen to do this. The weather has been glorious. Monday I cycled to the post office and then on from there, then the last two days I have walked three miles each day and got back for a quick-lunch before hitting the keyboard. Cant tell you what a difference it is making, I feel almost human at the end of the day!

Who could not love walking with views like these

And of course with the added bonus of wildlife to talk to on the way.

 

This is the best mid year resolution I have ever made, tomorrow I hope to run before work and cycle at lunch time. Bring it on. Can’t wait.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, London Moon Walk 2015, Photography, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Working to rule

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    I am so jealous I’m chewing my converse trainer soles!!!!!!
    Just stunning!!!! I on the other hand have a boss that’s cracks the whip, sets unrealistic deadlines and expects the earth for pittance….
    Time to re access me thinks!
    You ENJOY babes… Every single minute X X X
    I am off to London for two days of meeting 😦 chat on the weekend xxx

  2. sudebaker says:

    Great idea! Glad you found a way to fit some sanity into your day. It makes us more productive in the end 🙂

  3. Lovely views, indeed 🙂

    And thank you so much for your very generous donation.
    I assume it was you (I don’t know another ‘Shaz’).

  4. Gosh I was only just talking about this today. Good on you Shaz. Keep moving and keep those work boundaries in place.

Leave a Reply

