Let the walking training begin – finally!

In the middle of May Madam and I are doing the Moon Walk in London, we are only able to do the half-moon not due to my advancing years but due to her lack of age! However the half moon is not the normal 13.1 miles, for this year only just because Madam and I are partaking they have changed the route and increased the mileage to 15 miles. Oh joy!

Training has been delayed due to my injury but on Good Friday I dragged (this is no exaggeration) hubby and Madam out for a 5 mile walk. The weather was overcast but dry and warm enough that I managed to take my coat off, admittedly this might have had something to do with my unfitedness (a real word as of now) and the hills.

We started at Otterton and walked along the river to Budleigh Salterton

before continuing along the coast, where it undulated a little!

DSCN1107

But the views were spectacular

 

we continued on, passing this typical English countryside scene

before turning left at the waterworks (pegs please) and heading back to the car and then the pub for lunch. Not a bad way to spend Good Friday, though there was mutterings amongst the family about how could this be ‘Good Friday’ but I don’t listen to them.

After a quick consultation with the calendar/Madam’s track schedule/my social life(!)/and a birthday we have realised that there is very little time between now and the middle of May for us to get some long walks in. I have contemplated

  1. Cancelling the whole thing, but hotel and train are booked and paid for and of course the event itself is not a cheap thing to do, so not really and option.
  2. Contacting our Essex walking buddies and seeing if they could incorporate some weight training in with their walking so they can carry us when needed (still a possibility)

With the above on the back burner and no track events today Madam and I headed out for a walk in the Devon countryside. Me with a backpack of supplies and Madam with the official order NOT TO MOAN! (Note to self check price of ear defenders on ebay!)

This time we stayed local. In fact when we arrived at the car park I realised I had parked there for a club run! You know when you have the below views in Devon that you are at the top and this means one of two things, firstly you will go down and secondly you will go up, so make the most of the flat.

It was a lovely day and a great walk. My running companion told me she was wearing green to camouflage, not sure she pulled that off!

DSCN1155

We walked through the beautiful village of Broadhembury which is filled with thatch cottages, I love it there.

At the bottom of the village there was a choice bridge or ford! No prizes for guessing which Madam opted for!

A lovely 7.5 miles done, (with non moaning companion) at the half way mark, this took us three hours, but reckon we can take off an hour of that time, as London will be flatter, not have any stiles to negotiate, not as many photographic opportunities (it will be dark) although we might get delayed if we come across a 24 hour MacDonald’s!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in London Moon Walk 2015, Photography, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let the walking training begin – finally!

  1. japazzle says:

    Awesome! Some friends and I are thinking of entering the Cancer Research Shine Midnight Walk in September in London. My friend did the Moonwalk in Edinburgh a couple of years ago and says she did the full marathon in 6 hours….! Though her legs are probably twice the length of each of mine!

    What shoes do you wear for really long walks?

    • shazruns says:

      Hi! Today I walked in my Nike Frees which are like slippers but I think I will just where my running trainers on the day as have more cushioning on the bottom. Hope you do it. I did last one in 2007 with my eldest daughter that was the full 26 miles! That was a month after doing the London Marathon think I must have been mad!

      • japazzle says:

        Ha, definitely sounds it.

        I’m having a rubbish time with running shoes at the moment, though hopefully (!!) that should be sorted by September – I’ll be tearing my hair out if that’s not!

        I’ve just got some Skechers Flex Appeal with memory soles – they’re like having someone cuddle my feet! Definitely not running shoes, but I think they’ll be OK for long walks.

        Have fun!

  2. winsometahn says:

    What’s not to like about walking in that beautiful countryside!

  3. Great pics, as always 😊
    Looks lovely. I’d have opted for the ford, too.

Leave a Reply

