Running

Tuesday I went to the physio and he has released me back in to the running community and no longer wishes to see me and as lovely as he is, the feeling is mutual! The sigh of relief you might have heard was from my bank account!

I have my strict set of instructions though

  • Run gently
  • Stretch every day
  • Wear heel lifts
  • Ice after
  • Heat before
  • Go back if required

I promise to do as I am told.

Wednesday Madam was gone for the day and the weather was beautiful so I dug out my running vest, laced up my trainers, grabbed a bottle of water and headed out the door across the Devon countryside. 15 minutes in I managed to fall over, fortunately on to some soft mud, no harm done, except for muddy running kit! I am really getting used to this falling business, but really don’t want to make a habit of it! The ankle got sore after a while and seemed to cope better with soft terrain. It was a very slow run, but pleased I managed 8.5 miles. I really need to get my fitness level back.

Today I returned to parkrun, the idea was to set a new benchmark from which to improve, so of course I went off slow. I had opted to wear my 4×4 off road trainers. They were not needed, the course was very dry and hard, the trainers too heavy. By the time the second mile came, the ankle was beginning to hurt, I contemplated walking but in the end huffed and puffed my way to the finish. Oh my who knew running 5k could feel that tough.

Really got to sort this fitness level out, can’t have every run feeling like that!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Running

  1. Yay! Back in the game.

    The fitness will come back.

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    😎🍷🍷🍷 welcome back Mrs! Xxx

  3. Awesome Shaz! So glad to hear you are back running. I like the idea of establishing a new bench mark, that is a really positive way to look at things.

  4. winsometahn says:

    Good to hear you are back on your feet – the fitness will be back before you know it.

Leave a Reply

