Inter Counties Cross Country

About a month a go out of the blue I received an email from the Devon country cross-country team manager asking if Madam could be a reserve for Devon in the Inter Counties Cross Country Championships. We were so pleased to be asked, said yes please and then filled the email under ‘read’ and that was it. Until Tuesday night when I got a phone call saying someone had dropped out could Madam attend.

Well that sent me in to a tail spin I can tell you! Should she go on the team bus, should I go, should we travel up the night before oh the decisions and organisation that needed to go on.

Friday afternoon saw me pick her up from school and head up the M5 to a budget hotel for the night.

Saturday morning Madam spent a huge amount of time in the bathroom, doing I know not what but I guess it is very important to look ones best when running through mud! My biggest concern was parking, the event parking was a huge distance away from the park where it was being held. My mobility is not good still and at best walk the same pace as a very slow tortoise. I tried to blag my way in to the VIP parking but that was a NO, but hey no harm asking, but fortunately I was able to park on the road right there.

The weather was dry, windy, but warm enough.

Madam was to run 3k, we walked the course (cutting corners where I could!) underfoot it was amazingly good but being the 6th race in, we knew the muddy bits would get muddier. See that hill

IMG_1802

she was going to have to go up that, go round it and then back up it, it was a toughie!

Madam was quite excited to see a ‘proper’ finishing line.

IMG_1771

It was a proud proud moment, when she donned the Devon crop top. No matter the outcome of the run, she was good enough to represent her county. Wow!

IMG_1772This was a huge competition, the best of the UK in attendance, over 300 would run in her race, a massive experience for her.

This is her age group penned up at the start

IMG_2080 then they were off, charging down the hill. As Madam qualified as a reserve she was placed at the pack of her pen, number 2727.

I would have loved to charge all over the course shouting her on, but had to limp to the finish to await her arrival.

IMG_1787Here she goes.

I was so pleased to see her at the end and give her a huge hug, I was fit to burst. More importantly she was happy. Devon’s number 1 runner came 16th, that’s how tough this crowd were, sadly this runner was in tears, her desire was to come in the top ten. When the results came in I think Madam was slightly disappointed, her team-mate came in 30 seconds ahead of her and in that time 100 runners went through, putting Madam at 233, but for a reserve I think that is brilliant, but then I might be biased.

This blog has been bought to you by a very proud Mum. Any opinions are my own and might be biased, I offer no apology>

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Inter Counties Cross Country

  1. plustenner says:

    well done!!! what an amazing achievement

  2. Tubontherun says:

    She is absolutely amazing! Being asked to run at county level is a massive achievement, regardless of the actual place that she came in at. Of course, goes without ing that supportive parents are definitely worth their weight in gold too 🙂

  3. Totally agree with the need for lots of time in the bathroom for an important event. Go Madam, such a great result in a tough field and on a tough course AND with only days notice to mentally prepare. Proud Mum moments on this one for ever I think Shaz 🙂 Great photos and well done to you to be able to get around with your reduced mobility.

  4. paigesato says:

    Your Madam is quite a competitor! Congratulations to you both!

  5. As biased as you should be! And properly proud too.
    Well done that girl! 🙂

  6. oscardiamond says:

    Very well done to your daughter and to you for making it possible. A lovely day.

  7. I think she did a very good job! Congrats Madam and congrats mom on pulling it all off in a short amount of time.

Leave a Reply

