Cross Training

so much crossing training going on at the moment

  • cycling 15 miles a day on the exercise bike, so very dull
  • upper arm exercises
  • core exercises
  • parkrun spectating (watching Madam get  5k PB at our flatter local Parkrun course 22:14, yes I was more excited, sub 23, wow)
  • Davina McColl intense DVD, no jumping for me, for which my bladder and ankle are thankful, Madam does the hard cardio bit and I do the more genteel stuff, perfect
  • And with the imminent arrival of my Essex running buddy the best kind of cross training is to come  with much talking, some of it no doubt on running.

Why all this cross training and no running? Well, I set out last Thursday for a long run, made it two miles and then walked home, the Achilles clearly telling me I need to rest it more! So rest I have been doing, and icing and stretching. It is getting better, but will nurse it along for the next week or it will not  make it round the forth coming challenge on the 1st of March.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cross Training

  1. David Faust says:

    Sucks about your achilles. Hopefully continued rest will help!

    • shazruns says:

      It does indeed, very fed up, but trying to be patient not something I find easy.

      • David Faust says:

        I was the same with my back. Even against all the advice and all my pain I still went out and ran. It’s stupid. I cannot really say you should rest as I know that I would try and push it or do something stupid. Keep your chin up though 🙂

      • shazruns says:

        Thanks, I know it I run I won’t make the 1st, so that’s making me behave!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    SUB 23!!! wow wow wow!!! well done madam!!!!
    Oh babes, ‘ouch’ on the achilles… what did you tell me? REST REST REST!!!! It pays off in the long run (did you see that *g*)!
    Have fun with your Essex buddy x My sis arrives from CT in May… CANNOT WAIT!
    xxx
    take care now!

    • shazruns says:

      I know am trying but an missing my time out, my me time and a gossip with girls at running club! How exciting your sister is coming!

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Ogh bless yes… Can imagine! Me time is VERY important! 😎
        Yahhhh can’t WAIT… Am trying to get fitter cos she is like uber fit and runs FAR!!! I wanna take her on my trails and ENJOY it with her not and k@k off trying to keep up lololol!!!!

  3. madhat2014 says:

    Hope your achilles is better soon. x

  4. Nice varied cross training 🙂 sorry to hear about the Achilles, hope that gets better soon. Well done to Madam! That is a fantastic time.

  5. oscardiamond says:

    You must be kind to your Achilles and give it time to recover. Or else!

  6. Take your time so you will heal properly but I do like all your cross training. You probably won’t lose much fitness. Keep it up. Congrats to madam too. That’s awesome.

  7. holdingthepace says:

    I understand the bore of cross training. I recently just started training again and my cross train days are always the ones that drag! Good job on the 5k!!

Leave a Reply

