Saturday

The great thing about  January the 31st being on a Saturday is that the exercise for the last day is sorted and so is the blog. The bad thing about January the 31st being on a Saturday is that Sunday is long run day so no rest for the wicked come February. With 16 miles planned tomorrow I must have been really wicked.

This morning Madam and I both managed to do parkrun, our first one together this year. When I say together, obviously I mean I see her at the start and the finish! The National Trust have done some work on the course which has improved the running conditions on the first field, but it is still muddy, wet and tough.

Madam secured herself a massive PB by 34 seconds. An amazing effort in those conditions especially when she already runs in the 23 minute mark! Only 13 seconds to go to get in to the 22 minutes! Two years ago she did her first parkrun at Killerton in 31:52 so almost 10 minutes faster over 64 runs.

Today I have spent some time shining a bright light in her eyes and pulling at her finger nails to find out the secret of her success, maybe it has something to do with her youth and the track sessions she has been doing twice a week, in which case there is no hope for me!

Nothing spectacular about my time, these old legs do not cope well with the mud. I was amazed however when I checked my time to see it is my fastest time since 27 September, so not so bad after all. Then the results came through by email ………

First

I’ve checked the web site, I was not the only VW45-49 (this was the last time I came first) there was 11 others! Go Me!

Janathon Totals

  • Blog posts:- 31
  • Runs 30 (1 small 100 metre run to car and back and one contracted out)
  • 45 miles on the exercise bike (OMG its so boring!)
  • 128 miles run (better than 2013 not as good as 2014!)
  • Chocolates eaten 33 – one day missed and one day with two and then today

THREEEEEEEEEEEE

three

See you in June?! Maybe.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Devon, Janathon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Saturday

  1. plustenner says:

    woohoo! nice parkrun and great mileage! I have had my worst January since 2012 😦

  2. madhat2014 says:

    Your daughter is doing brilliantly! I know where she gets it from. 😃 How many chocolates are left?

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    Wooooo Shazbabes that’s epic!!!! And wow on madams time!!!! ~~Bows~~ 🙂

  4. Fantastic totals! Well done on Janathon and hope the long run goes well tomorrow 🙂

  5. runtezza says:

    Fantastic final flurry — Go Shaz!!!!

  6. rundelrun says:

    HA, your first paragraph pretty much summed up my entire post!

  7. Awesome Janathon Shaz! If you find that secret on how to keep getting those PBs please share. That is amazing, Go Madam! And very well done to you too. First in your age group is absolutely awesome. Have loved following your Janathon posts. Have a great 16 mile run, hope the weather is kind to you.

  8. paigesato says:

    wow! First in age group! When there were more than 1 entrants! Impressive!

  9. The old relic says:

    Life on the old kitty yet! What are you on besides chocolates?

  10. winsometahn says:

    You totally earned three chocs today! Well done on a brilliant parkrun!

  11. jensruns2011 says:

    Well done to both you and your daughter on fantastic parkrun results! 🙂 Great Janathon stats, hope the long run goes well tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

