Catch up

Wednesday night our running club joined another local club for their club night. It was quite interesting to see the way they do things, you would think it would similar to ours, but no actually very different.

  • They did warm ups in the local car park, proper warm ups, swinging arms, raising legs, touch the floor etc, we usually just set off!
  • Various groups and distances on offer, beginners, 2 miles, 4 miles, 6 miles, 6 miles fast. It may be that they don’t do this usually doing it this was only when they have guests, but I thought this was a good idea, we tend to all set off and then splinter in to groups according to speed.
  • A led stretch and cool down, granted some stretch at the end normally but nothing as formal as this

The run itself was nice along the seafront, up the hill, loop back, along the sea front, upping the pace every other lamppost, up the hill the other end and then loop back. At one point I could hear claws on the road surface coming up behind me and I though it odd that someone had brought a dog along, only to realise at the last-minute that it was a badger not a canine! Scared the life out of me.

An enjoyable evening. Afterwards I jumped in the car and off I went to a Southampton Hotel, the story of the hotel, will have to wait till tomorrow!

Now to todays Janathon activity, I am going to take a leaf out of Rachel’s book and have contracted out my running for today, to Madam.

Her training schedule says….

kate train

rather her than me! (thanks for the cracking idea Fairweather)

I might let her have the chocolate

orange

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Catch up

  1. winsometahn says:

    Aww, I’ve always wanted to see a badger in real life!
    Well done on contracting out your run (I think you should eat the chocolate yourself as reward for effective delegating!).

  2. runtezza says:

    Glad you outran the local wildlife. Very arty choc-shot today, great textures!

  3. golddh says:

    Isn’t the variety so interesting? You’d think that all clubs would do things more or less the same, am always surprised when I play tourist.

  4. It’s interesting how running groups tackle runs so differently. We don’t do any formal warm ups or cool downs with our group. Might be good to do once in a while. And very nice of you to consider giving Madam your chocolate – her training schedule today looks tough!

  5. OmniRunner says:

    I have run with two different local clubs and it is interesting how they do things differently. One meets in a bar and drinks very little. Another has an organized 5K every Wednesday night.
    My club meets in a Knights of Columbus hall, drinks like fishes and everyone runs the distance they want to.
    Fun all around!

Leave a Reply

