Dusting down Nell

This morning I dusted off my Nell McAndrew DVD, inspired by all those Janathoners out there doing exercise DVD’s, of course this one is not as hardcore as some of them, luckily.

IMG_1813

Today I did 10 minutes upper body strength exercises followed by 10 minutes core exercises. Since I stopped weight lifting for a living (stacking supermarket shelves) my upper body strength is zero and my core is much them same, resembling a very floppy jelly fish. I know I should do these exercises more often, surely 20 minutes in a day is not too hard to find?

Madam decided to watch my attempt at the core exercises whilst she ate her breakfast, giving helpful tips and encouragement such as

  • Oh this one is easy
  • You are not moving in time, Mum
  • Your back is not straight
  • Don’t stop
  • And the final insult came as I was doing the plank, there I was trembling just about hanging in there and she gave me a pat on the back! Thanks Madam!

Mental note to self – Wait till she goes to school before doing again

Running was 2 miles at lunch time, gentle mile out turn around go hell for leather back. 15 seconds faster than last weeks attempt!

Triple exercise = Triple Chocolate Mousse, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Triple choc

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Devon, Janathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dusting down Nell

  1. madhat2014 says:

    Upper body exercises drive me nuts too.
    I looking forward to your daily choc. It’s almost the equivalent of an Advent calendar. 😃

  2. Your first paragraph reads as though Nell has released some other (hardcore) DVDs ! :-/

  3. Nothing like the tutoring from a teenager! And giggles at floppy jelly fish! Well done, I can never do those videos.

Leave a Reply

