Janathon is a Marathon

I got to thinking the other day whilst out for a plod that there are many similarities between running a marathon and Janathon. One of the definitions I found on the web for a marathon was a long-lasting or difficult task or activity.’ Janathon is both long-lasting and difficult, which I think on day 9 you would agree if not well check back on day 31. Here are the other likenesses I came up with.

  • Involves lots of people
  • There is a winner
  • Some entries dress up
  • Blisters occur
  • Some plod, some race
  • Some don’t make it to the end
  • There are spectators
  • You meet people on the way
  • The weather can be wet, dry, hot, cold, windy, stormy, snowy
  • They occur all over the world
  • Injuries and illnesses stop participation
  • Kit needed
  • Stretching vital
  • Foam roller usage crucial

For me today though no marathon, two miles, one slow, one fast, not fast enough again, but faster just than Wednesday!

In recognition of those bloggers and Janathoners up North todays chocolate was consumed for you. You are very welcome.

Nestled

 

Hope you are all ‘Nestled‘ down, keep safe and warm

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Janathon, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Janathon is a Marathon

  1. Sam says:

    I have creme eggs and the heat is on. The weather can do its worst. Till tomorrow at least!

  2. winsometahn says:

    I’m nestled in too! Here’s to day 9 of the Janathon-Marathon!!

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    Thanks poppie 🙂 in schuggled on the couch with a box if Mon Cheri and not budging! Xxx have a fab weekend!

  4. rundmach says:

    Mmm I’ll take that chocolate over the cold!

  5. AprilRuns says:

    More chocolate please!

Leave a Reply

