Short and not so sweet

Beautiful sky this morning

 

In ten days I have a 10k race in Exeter that I would like to PB in. Trouble is I have done little (ok read none) speed work in preparation.

With trepidation and dread I decided on a tempo session today. I really don’t like running fast (ok read faster than norm) it really is just too much dam effort! My enthusiasm for it plunged lower when the rain decided to come the minute I put my kit on.

I jogged out for a mile. Turned around and raced back. (Ok read, I ran back as fast as my tired achy legs could carry me). Oh boy it was tough and nowhere near fast enough.

Now as I see it I have some options

  1. Panic
  2. Don’t do the 10K!
  3. The end of next week reduce my running and rest these poor weary Janathon legs

Obviously I am doing number 1, don’t really want to use option 2 and am trying to work out how to run every day and rest my legs at the same time. A conundrum.

I guess booking a race I want to PB in, in January was not a bright idea.

Two miles done, one mile slow, one mile slighter faster but not as fast as it should have been.

As I mixed it up with the running, I opted for the White Truffle Chocolate today

Yummy

Yummy

P.S. 8 miles completed on the exercise bike again this morning.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Devon, Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Short and not so sweet

  1. winsometahn says:

    I think you’ll be fine Shaz – I’m sure all those marathon miles late last year will have helped more than you realise. Try to reduce your miles towards the end of next week – a mile each day will still count to Janathon! You could also try forgetting your Garmin – worked for me in November! x

    • shazruns says:

      Thanks for your advice. Sometimes I run with Garmin where I cant see the screen but must admit in some races I have found it helps to keep me going as long as I am running well of course! Has the opposite effect if it is going badly. Will defo reduce miles next Wednesday on. x

  2. I also think you’ll be fine and will do well on all your mileage. I’d go for option c and cycle for janathon. Good luck!

  3. Ice_Badger says:

    Option c definitely and cycle and or swim or do some yoga for janathon (i dont take this advice but i would do option 1 and run too much tjen hold my legs together with compression tights, inruprophen and muscle run stuff…dont be me!!)

  4. Katrina says:

    I can’t offer you any sound advice, but I will keep my fingers crossed for your PB. Swimming is great if you like smelling like bleach every time you get hot or wet for the next 48hrs x

  5. paigesato says:

    Use that “on” button on your wiggle tights. That’ll get you the PB.

    • shazruns says:

      Great advice Paige. On a totally unrelated subject-madam and I are watching the new series of Broadchurch! Fabulous and the dead boy’s father is in it again! Oh happy days! Hope it crosses the pond.

      • paigesato says:

        Oh, I’m going to cross my fingers for that! I’ve been watching the Swedish version of The Bridge. No dead boy dad, but it’s a nail-biter!

  6. Tubontherun says:

    It was a beautiful sunrise this morning! Well done on getting out there this morning – it was really cold.

  7. plustenner says:

    option c, and you will get that PB 🙂

  8. iwalkicycle says:

    Your white truffle looks like half a boiled egg!

  9. I’m with you on the running faster bit. But it’s good for us! At least that’s what I tell myself. Give it your best shot 🙂 That chocolate looks yum!

  10. fitflo says:

    I’m just catching up on your blog, I’m gonna guess it went fine! Btw that choccy looks like an egg…

Leave a Reply

