The best part of my day

When the best part of your day is a 6 mile run that you have done time and time again, this means one of two things

  1. I was on fire, broke the four-minute mile and was floating
  2. The run was mediocre but compared to the rest of the day………..

I will let you decide which it was.

After the run, it was a shower, change and out to Madam’s cross-country. We got there in time to walk the course. Walking it was quite nice, it was not very muddy which was amazing considering the rain we have had. The lake was pretty!

The run was tough though and tough competition as the best from South West running, as well as others that wanted to. Two undulating laps with a nasty up hill finish. Madam was not happy.

KateHere she is at the half way mark.

I love going along to watch her run and really don’t mind how she does at all. However if Madam finds the going tough and is not happy with her own performance then I would gladly give her up for adoption! Any takers? Loves to sweep, unloads the dish washer, is a neat freak, can be a joy to be around. (occasionally!)

So to mark my not so great day, I had a not so great chocolate, the Raspberry Sundae

RS

Total Janathon miles to date – 27 miles, great start but its back to work tomorrow so could all change.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Devon, Janathon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The best part of my day

  1. madhat2014 says:

    Get you! 6 miles are always good! 🙂

  2. I know hiw you feel….work in the morning!

  3. iwalkicycle says:

    6 miles, plus a walk – well done! Hope work goes well tomorrow. Am dreading the alarm!

  4. winsometahn says:

    Was your run dry and flood free?? Fingers crossed for a better Cross Country next time for Madam! x

  5. mawil1 says:

    Did your daughter get interested in running herself or did she need encouragement? I’d love to get my son interested! he will do Parkrun with me but won’t join the cross country club at school. Your girl sounds lovely btw, I’m sure she will grow out of the grumps! Great running figs – I’ll be pleased if I do that in a month!

    • shazruns says:

      She was inspired by Olmpics and by doing well in school races. This inter county stuff is tough though! She does like running and is only grumpy with me as that is what i an for!

  6. Sam says:

    Well done on the run. Good luck for the work life balancing act!

  7. A neat freak teenager? Wow! Sounds like it was a very tough event for her. I’m going with option one – I thought of another Janathon chocolate helped you zoom along 🙂 Hope that your return to work goes smoothly.

  8. Katrina says:

    Madam can come and unload my dishwasher if she likes as it’s my number one hated job. Please pack her off with any spare Raspberry Sundaes 🙂 x

  9. Lesley says:

    You can keep the raspberry sundaes, very happy to adopt your gorgeous girl x

  10. runtezza says:

    Fantastic mileage so far — keep up the good work!

  11. follystone says:

    Well done for getting the miles in. I know, all too well, the tribulations of supporting a child when they think they haven’t raced as well as they should. But we do also get to share their joy when it does go to plan & they do grow to be more sanguine to the ups & downs of sport – honest they do !

  12. jensruns2011 says:

    Wow! That’s some great mileage you’ve clocked up already! 🙂 Sorry to hear your daughter’s cross-country didn’t go as she’d hoped, doesn’t sound like it was an easy one by any stretch.

  13. abradypus says:

    Shucks – I was so hoping it was option 1 🙂

  14. Tubontherun says:

    Well done Madam!

    And obviously it was Option 1! 🙂

  15. JustDeb says:

    Great run! Thanks for stopping by my blog! How nice that your kids run with you. I have only one child, a boy, and all he would do with me is arm wrestle and play basketball. He is now 36 and trying to get his girls to run, but they play basketball. He is very fit, though. Us Moms do have some great influence! Will follow your journey!

  16. Robinson says:

    Congrats on your 4 minute miles (As I’m sure that was the one!) That is fantastic that madam is out there running! I understand her not being happy.. I for one, think loop races are a drag… and even worse when the loopy part is the most miserable!!!

    Awesome that you walk it with her – I can safely say that is one thing my parents were never willing to do in the decades ago that I ran! What a great mom!

  17. fitflo says:

    She doesn’t look very happy. I’m guessing it was a crappy run – choccy looks nice tho!

  18. Pingback: Madam | shazruns

Leave a Reply

