Sharing

Out of all the Madams the youngest one is the best at sharing, give the girl a packet of sweets and within seconds she will have offered them round. We often comment on this and as her parent, are proud of this, however not so pleased when she shared the lurgy with her Dad who then in turn decided to share it with me. Yes that’s right I have been struck down and have spent most of the last three days trying to locate the double decker bus that keeps knocking me down. I could write my first ever blog on illness (I am never usually ill having an immune system with an impenetrable wall) but this would be depressing and boring suffice to say I feel crap dreadful.

I could write a blog about running. Obviously I have not run since Sunday, but hey you don’t have to run to write about it do you? No today for something completely different where I shall reach new levels of boring you, you have been warned. Today I bring you my Christmas tree…..

DSCN0787

Like any other Christmas tree, right? Wrong.

This tree tells a story, the story of our 15 years together, and our travels. Every year I gaze at it remembering where we have been and where each decoration came from. Each year I try and add to it, but this is not always been possible. The relics have been contributors over the years also, so you see this is an international Christmas tree.

These four started things off, when hubby (pre hubby days) and I went on a mini break on his motorbike to Holland and picked these up in Delft.

This lovely fellow came from Ireland when we went there to celebrate hubby’s 40th, I just love his shamrock buttons! Maybe not his politically incorrect pipe!DSCN0755Of course it’s got to be bears from Canada

This angel is my absolute favourite designed and created by Danish silversmith Georg Jensen, we spent a lovely weekend in Copenhagen to celebrate my 40th sans any Madams!

DSCN0766

Two from Cornwall, one made from Cornish Tin and the Robin was  created in the village we stayed at this year.

This lovely to touch wooden snowman with his rainbow buttons was picked up in Lechlade, where they have a year round Christmas shop, love this store. Not quite as big or as good as the one in Banff, Canada, but its closer!

DSCN0790

You will be glad to see that running plays a part on the tree, firstly with this runner, who looks nothing like me in size, stature, running attire, hairstyle, running style, but she is a runner! Middle madam broke her leg one year, and unlike me she was easier to fix thanks to superglue!DSCN0754

I even have a decoration celebrating FLM number one circa 2005!

DSCN0771

How cool is that?

These come from Oz thanks to the relics

and these from other relics travels

Finally, no tree would be complete without a fairy. Homemade and much loved.

DSCN0780

So there you have it my much loved Christmas tree and the memories it holds. Hopefully normal running blogs will return soon!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sharing

  1. Love your tree and the beautiful decorations that bring such wonderful memories. I do hope you are feeling better soon. So nice to have such a lovely sharing daughter.

  2. Cathy says:

    Your tree looks lovely, and I love the stories behind the decorations. Our tree is just the same, with decorations collected from our travels far and wide. Whenever we decorate the tree, we also enjoy reminiscing about all the places we’ve been to. Hope the lurgy soon passes so that you can enjoy Christmas to the full.

  3. Not boring at all. In fact a very fun and cool tree. Makes me want to start a tree just for our travels, now I just need to book some! 🙂

  4. Tubontherun says:

    Sorry to hear you have the lurgy! Feel better soon! Sharing isn’t always caring it seems!

    Your Christmas tree is fab! I love the little shop in Lechlade. I haven’t been there for years but Mum and Dad’s tree have baubles from there too.

  5. plustenner says:

    i just love that you have picked up bits and pieces all over !

  6. Red Hen says:

    What a lovely idea with those decorations, Sharon!

Leave a Reply

