Nursing

Traditions are prolific this time of year and my one of ‘struggling to fit in running’ is in operation yet again. Must admit though there has been ‘some’ running, in previous years December has been a ‘running free’ month.

When I was younger like most girls in the 70’s I wanted to be a nurse, after all what else did females ‘do’ back then? Later on I considered re training, this week I have come to realise though that the NHS had a lucky escape and should really thank their lucky stars!

Thursday morning Madam got up and stated she was not well. How could I tell this was true, using my super mummy powers?

  • She was hot
  • She looked awful
  • Admitted to being tired and not sleeping
  • She wanted to go to school!
  • Her chocolate remained uneaten
  • The day was spent on the sofa
  • The ipad and all electronic devices were untouched only the TV stared at.
  • Grumpy
  • Much moaning about medicine taking, took place
  • Much moaning about temperature taking, took place
  • Much moaning about life took place

Thursday was her first day off school in 16 months, Friday she insisted on going in despite a temperature, you see it was non uniform day and house hockey and she was captain! Lets hope after the Christmas break she is as keen to return, though somehow I doubt it.

Saturday saw us not go to parkrun, the first one we have missed in a while, by the evening disaster had struck and hubby was coming down with the lurgy.

Using my super wifey powers, how did I know he is ill?

  • SNORING
  • Cold
  • Boots have relieved him of much of his wages this month, so no presents for me, unless I want a bulk pack of lemsip!
  • Sniff. sniff, sniff
  • Sigh, sigh, sigh

If the ground was not so frozen I would have dug a very big  for the pair of them this weekend!

Talking of frozen ground, this morning I ran 14 miles on it. The joy of hard mud, instead of sloppy, slippy mud, much easier to run on. It was cold but dry. The occasional part hosted freezing cold puddles, part of the roads were tricky but all in all not a bad run. Still not getting any easier though!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nursing

  1. December is such a busy time of year, good to hear you are getting the running in. Sorry to hear about the lurgy in the house, hope the patients are better soon and don’t keep up with the tradition of sharing – sharing with you, stay well Shaz 🙂

  2. Wow… You are getting some decent miles in, Sharon 😊

    Sounds like you have the right idea…staying out of your household as long as possible!

  3. plustenner says:

    14 miles!!! superwoman xx

Leave a Reply

