Double running weekend for both

Sunday saw yet more running for Madam and I. I am contemplating asking for a Christmas postponement as at this rate I will NEVER be ready!

My run was with a couple of friends from the club as we plough head first in to Grizzly training. I ran to the venue point and was surprised to find it was still pitch black dark at 7 am which meant hi vis and a head torch. The run was fairly uneventful, for once we did not get lost, there was lots of mud, hills and a spot of rain. I must admit I faded at mile 10 but was fortunate that our leader had a miniature size picnic with him and after a mini mars bar I continued on. 13 miles for me, but I still can’t understand why that is still so tough, will it ever get easier?

Madam was competing for her club in a 3k cross country in Exeter. The best of the south west were there. The sun was out, but boy was there a fierce cold wind. Madam performed well and she was pleased with her result, but not so pleased with her old mother demanding a ‘sprint finish’ as this photo clearly shows!

IMG_1283-0.JPG

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Double running weekend for both

  1. Wow good on Madam! The sprint finish looks great. I know what you mean about a postponement for Christmas. I have only done shopping for Paul’s three grandchildren and absolutely nothing else! I often wonder if Christmas should be like the Olympics and just be every four years!

  2. I set out in the early hours this morning too. Crazy dark.
    I set off just after 6 hoping to see a sunrise on my return leg but like you, I just saw darkness… Boooo.

    13 miles is very good going.

  3. Congrats to Madam. As far as Christmas, I just can’t get motivated. I have three gifts under the tree and I bought them in September when I went to Disneyland. Maybe next week will be different.

  4. Red Hen says:

    Wow, you’re still clocking up major mileage. Yep, hard to fit Christmas into the mix too, though I’m guessing you’re getting there by now.

Leave a Reply

