Family stops running and blogging

This past week we became of family of five again for a few days, this made running barely possible and blogging impossible. Four women in the house and the noise level and constant chatter makes thinking tricky! Middle Madam is off to Australia for a year, so was down for a farewell visit and Big Madam joined us for a few days.

We had a great few days, reminiscing and catching up before sending both on their way.

I joined the club on Sunday morning (before anyone else got up) and managed 10 miles. It was nice to run a long run with company for a change.

Monday night I snuck away for the club run, but should have stayed in as we got drenched. At one point the rain eased, but then a car went through a puddle soaking us all again, that was not even close to being funny! Madam was at home with her sisters which was just as well, she would have been mortified that I stripped down to my sports bra in the car park to put something warm and dry on before getting in to the car. She would have been even more horrified that I could not get my hoody on my wet body and had to sidle in the car, turn the light off and wrestle in to the warmness! So glad to be home that night.

That is it I am afraid, for this week except of course for todays parkun which saw us pitch up at Exeter for a change, but the least said about my performance the better!

So that’s you all caught up.

I have been trying to catch up on a pile of running magazines and came across a really good article in Runner’s World, an article written for me. It is about bouncing back after a poor race performance, oh and I need to bounce back big time. Here is what I have learned

  • ‘A bad race is an opportunity to gather information, learn and improve’ mmmm there must be easier ways of doing this rather than run a bad 26.2 miles
  • It’s normal to feel disappointment (thank god) and healthy to express them BUT (and this is the worrying part) the grieving stage must not linger, as this lowers confidence. (Makes sense)
  • I need to regain my emotional balance (?) to do this I need to evaluate what happened and why I am upset. Am I embarrassed by how others view my performance, did I take shortcuts in the training (NO), upset at Mother nature (oh yes)
  • Dissect the race. Separate what I could control (pace) with what I could not (soul-destroying route) Write about my experience (check!)
  • Move forward (trying) Sign up for the next race but make it independent from the bad one, have a break from racing for a bit until you miss it.

So that is me trying to go through the list, get back to running and find my speed. Bouncing back slowly. T I double G ER!

Tigger

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Family stops running and blogging

  1. sudebaker says:

    The bouncing back part and taking a break until you miss it hits home for me. It took me a LONG time to miss it after my dismal first marathon. But that’s okay. Running stays with me, turning up like a shiny penny just in time 🙂 It’s in you, shaz. Don’t give up yet.

  2. I wonderful thing about Tiggers, are that Tiggers are wonderful things!

  3. Stops running and blogging. Had me worried for a minute there. Thought that was a decision for good for a moment there….maybe reflective of my own thoughts…but I’m not quite there yet, either.

    *practises bouncing*

  4. Great advice! The only thing I would add is to take the pressure off and remember to have fun – which, if you run/ bounce like a Tigger, you can’t really fail to do. 🙂

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    ditto… I’ve goat somehow ‘get back’ after a week on nothing and sheer indulgence… not easy! wish it was summer… everything seems a lot easier when the sun shines xxx

  6. Another wonderful post, Shaz. Sounds like you have had a lot going on too. I wish your daughter all the best as she comes to Australia. And good on your for bouncing back, not easy to do. No matter how slowly, keep bouncing back. We all think you’re wonderful.

  7. winsometahn says:

    Hopefully doing the running things you love: parkrun, trail runs with beautiful scenery, running with the club, will help you find your bounce soon.

  8. Red Hen says:

    Thank goodness I am not the only one on an unintended blogging and jogging break! Yep, the `take a break until you miss it`vibe certainly strikes a chord with me. As does embarrassing all hell out of my teenaged girl with a swift clothes change!

  9. plustenner says:

    you are amazing Shaz xxx

Leave a Reply

