Next

Yesterday’s parkrun was my first run this week. I had a lovely jog around with a fellow Chelmsford marathoner, we wore our t-shirts with pride, it was great to share Killerton with her. The legs did not object at all, but the blister well it made itself known the whole way and I relished showing it off the club members, at the end, much to Madam’s horror. Feeling left out Phil? Well this is how it looks currently in full size Technicolor

blister againA badge of honour, a war wound!

Today after strapping the whole in my foot, I went for a gentle 6 mile cross-country run, choosing my favourite route, the aim of which was to like running again. I currently feel like we have fallen out, running and I, we have not been speaking, after this morning I would say we are now on nodding terms, still not chatting much! We better make up soon as plans have been made, money has been parted with, challenges entered.

  1. Exeter 10k Winter, mid January
  2. The Grizzly ‘Twentyish muddy, hilly, boggy, beachy miles of the multiest-terrain running experience’ Ā ‘tough, hilly, some cliff paths with drops to the side, both mud and water potentially up to waist deep but nearly a third tarmac’. I might have said previously I would not do this EVER, but actually looking forward to it, no pressure of a time with this one, just an achievement to get to the end. The added bonus of running it with a running buddy too.
  3. The half moon walk – London May 2015. I did the full Moon with big Madam when she was 16, little Madam has since wanted to do it, she is only old enough to do the half. Training for this will be a test for Mother daughter relationships. I see long runs in the morning, followed by long runs in the afternoon in my future.

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Next

  1. Red Hen says:

    You’re making a good recovery, Sharon. I swear I damaged my feet so much after my one and only marathon that I was still hobbling a week later. It took months for me to run again.

  2. plustenner says:

    ouch!!! my eyes water just looking at it!!! are you up for Disney 2016 šŸ™‚
    see you at Moonwalk x

  3. Hope the blister is all gone before your next event!

  4. Take your time with the recovery. This is my third marathon and today was really my first run that felt good and my longest (only two runs this week). You will get your run back! šŸ™‚

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    HOLY SHivvers!!!!!! that looks so sore! I am shuddering here seriously contemplating my running career if THAT could happen… i am a ‘sissy’ when it comes to ‘wounds’…
    I think i need a few races planned ot get me motivated, im lacking in that dept at the moment… than goodness i have YOU guys to motivate me… keep running Shaz and here is to LESS painful blisters xxxx

Leave a Reply

