Chelmsford Marathon

Part Two

Here is the long awaited for, much anticipated part two blog about the Chelmsford Marathon. The delay has been partly due to a friend visiting and partly for me to get my head in a better place to enable me not to write a ‘moaning’ blog, however I can’t promise there won’t be any moaning but will try and keep it to a minimum.

Last Sunday I woke early with the usual stomach issues, I’d like to blame my Mum’s cooking but feel it was more likely to be nerves. I forced breakfast down and headed to Chelmsford, dropping Madam on the way with her friend. Running buddy and friends located and we waited for the start, and waited and waited. Not really sure why there was a delay, it was annoying for sure, making us all jittery.

Finally we were off.

We did one loop in town before heading out along the cycle path that I have run along many times, the support was great, especially in one village where the resident’s access had been restricted due to the run. It was a two lap course great for spectators, enabling me to pass Mrs F 4 times and Mrs W 6 times. The first 15 miles went well, but I never seemed to settle in to it, then I began to hurt, my back was terrible, my calf tight, my foot sore. The blister plaster had worked its way up to the top of my sock, clearly not doing its job, a stone made its way in to my left trainer nestling itself under my heel, where it stayed for 6 miles. It was warm and I was thirsty all the time, no matter how much I drank. I adopted a walk run technique, something I have not done on any on the VLM marathons. The course was soul-destroying, we passed the finish at about 11 miles, then 23 miles, where it was turn left for finish and right for 3 more miles of agony. There was no way of knowing how many people turned left and should have gone right, in fact I was very tempted to go left! We then went out-of-town again before coming back past the finish, away from the finish before looping back. I could have wept. The last 5 miles were spent close to a local man who also was run walking, I tried to get him to join me on a run for the finish at 2 miles to go, his legs refused and in the end mine followed suit. Finally at 25 miles he came along side me and suggested we run all the way, we were joined by a member of my old running club whom strangely enough I had run the first two miles with. We shuffled to the end, shook hands after crossing the line, grateful to each other for the company. Coincidently all three of us had the same finish time. (4:40)

Why did it go pearshape?

  • I might have gone off too fast
  • Running Cardiff half two weeks prior, might not have been a good idea
  • I get way too worked up about it all

I could speculate till the cows come home, oh and believe me I have, the only conclusion I can come to is that it is not a distance for me. I am cross that it has beaten me. I am annoyed that despite training hard, I could not pull it out of the bag on the day.

Chelmsford Marathon part three will follow shortly.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Marathon Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Chelmsford Marathon

  1. sudebaker says:

    Hey, I think you’re amazing. You finished. You did what you set out to do 🙂 I’m thoroughly impressed, young lady!

  2. paigesato says:

    Wow! 4:40 is an amazing time! I totally agree about those races that have you pass the finish line prior to actually finishing. A bit deflating.

  3. It didn’t beat you.
    It really didn’t.
    4:40 sounds more than respectable to me!

  4. Gosh Shaz, it does sound soul destroying but it didn’t destroy you, you kept going and you finished. And that in my book makes you a winner! I really appreciate your honest recap and it wasn’t moaning at all, just honest. Very well done. I appreciate your three points on why you think it might’ve not gone to plan. And 4:40? That’s awesome considering how tough it was for you. I’m extremely impressed and inspired!!!

  5. iwalkicycle says:

    Right, listen up.
    1. It DID NOT beat you – you beat it!
    2. You FINISHED! You did the 26 miles – you pulled it out of the bag.
    3. You trained, and trained and trained – you have perseverance and determination oozing out of your pores and are an inspiration!
    4. Well done Shaz – sorry, lecture over. Am in awe of you and remember 26 miles is one b******* long way! 🙂

  6. I “liked” the post because I wanted you to know I was reading it but I’m mad at you for beating yourself up! You finished! You even finished in a really good time. Dave keeps telling me when I think about things that might have gone wrong in my marathon that I am still conquering the distance. You are too! We just have to figure out ways to relax and enjoy the fact we are there! Maybe trying one that does not torture you with running the same area over and over! Congrats on finishing!

  7. Red Hen says:

    The distance didn’t beat you. You just needed a more enjoyable and better organized marathon. Wonderful time!Congrats!!!

  8. CeeJayKay says:

    well, i think you are IT ShazBabes! AMAZEBALLS!!! The guts and sheer determination that you have is a total inspiration to me and i feel all emotional now after reading that… )))hugs((( you DID IT! congrats Shaz!!!

  9. I’m with everyone else! 4.40 is a great time!!

  10. Tubontherun says:

    You beat it! Not the other way around! A good time on a grotty course by the sounds of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

