Tired

Have I been for a long slow run? Is that why I am tired?

No, today was spent sat in a chair watching Madam compete in a pentathlon. Who knew sitting could be so exhausting? Being a spectator is far more stressful than competing take it from me, I am wrung out.

Here is a blow-by-blow account of the 5 events, not that you want or need to know of course, but it will help me get if off my chest and sleep tonight! Therapy that is what this is Shaz therapy. Thank you.

Event One

Long jump a PB of 20 cm. MeOh well done MadamIts only 20 cm

Event Two

Hurdles this did not go so well, after three false starts she did not get in the rhythm but still managed .02 second PB Me you really did not get in the swing of that did you? MadamI am useless, I was last out of the slowest group

Event Three

High jump, she obtained her highest hump in a long while and second highest ever, but the last height did not even try and jump. MeYou need to get on the bed, you just need to jump MadamYes I know but it comes up to here (shoulder) on me MeYes but you have jumped it before Madam************

Event Four

Shot put- We agreed on this one – useless! Usually she does well but today, no!

Event Five

Me – (Pushy Mum persona surfacing) Go out and get a PB. Your running has improved so over 800 metres you should get a good result MadamΒ  I’m nervous (Nerves? She has no idea I felt sick to my stomach!)

So thrilled to say Madam managed this final event with a PB of three seconds, not bad over that distance. Thankfully she finished on this high, but my what a roller coaster of a day. I went from kind, gentle sympathetic Mum, to pushy, stroppy, no-nonsense Mum Β “you will get a PB“. I figure if I go through the full range of Mumminess then at some point it will be the correct thing to do!

She tells me she wants to do the open event this Tuesday, that means in two days I have to go through it all again, but thankfully only three events this time. Might sneak in a flask with something to steady my nerves or I might stay in the car.

Thanks for listening!

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tired

  1. Well done to Madam and well done to being a supportive Mum πŸ™‚

  2. Red Hen says:

    Oh, I can just imagine how nerve-wrecking that was! I wonder how much performance anxiety affects top athletes-including your daughter-and, especially, their poor parents!

  3. Lol! I do love your blog!

  4. winsometahn says:

    I’m beginning to think a medal for the parents should be inlcuded at all prize givings!

  5. paigesato says:

    I am the worst-ever spectating parent. It’s so hard to watch the littles (even when they’re big) compete!

  6. Loved reading this. πŸ™‚

    But seriously…. a long jump pb of 20 cm?
    Were all her previous jumps less than 20cm ? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

