Another week done

After waking at 5 this morning and not falling back to sleep, I really did not feel like going to parkrun. I know it was a shock in the shazruns household too, hubby not quite believing what he was hearing.

In the end though I decided that as I was going anyway to take Madam, I may as well run, another run closer to my 100 t-shirt!

No men in tights this week which was a great relief and also makes me believe they all must read my blog! Of course.

I managed my second fastest Killerton time, now wondering what I could have done had I tried, but I was tired and did run 10 miles last night so happy with that.

Madam romped home with a 20 second PB, only 8 seconds to go to get a sub 24 minute time and was the 8th female across the finish.

The half marathon and marathon are creeping nearer. Every waking moment it seems, is spent thinking about them, about what I need to take, what I am going to wear, what I want to achieve and if I am not thinking about them I am reading about them. Safe to say I am obsessing. Roll on 20 October when it will all be over.

Last Sunday here in sunny Devon was beautiful, so off we set to a place as yet unvisited by us. Babbacombe is by the sea and is apparently ‘Torbays Jewel in the Crown’, we sat outside, had a pub lunch and enjoyed the scenery.

DSCN0388

After lunch we walked down to the beach to get a closer look

sea

this past winter saw some of the cliff collapse taking with it some spectacular houses with incredible views.

collapse

The plan was to take the Cliff Railway back up to the top but as they do not take cards, and we did not have any cash it was a climb back up on foot for use! The Cliff Railway was built in 1926 (my Mum went on it soon after this!!!) it takes passengers (250,000 of them a season), from the top cliff to the beach or vice versa. We will have to do it next time.

railway

It was a nice afternoon out, am hoping for more warm days like that before winter comes in.

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Marathon Training, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another week done

  1. Red Hen says:

    Wow!Your young lady is doing really well! Sub 24 on the way?What a gift she is giving herself for the rest of her life.

  2. Hang in there Shaz, those races will be hear before you know it. I so admire all the training you are doing. And as for madam? Wow!

  3. plustenner says:

    well done madam!! and mom is not doing too bad either 🙂 wow – you sure live in a beautiful place

Leave a Reply

