Back down South

Yes, I am back in the south, I returned on Thursday after having a lovely 8 run in Ripon on Wednesday evening, and an uninspiring 4 miles on Thursday morning followed by a swim and of course a dip in the hot tub.

Pics from Ripon

Pics from the uninspiring 4 miles…… but they do grow cow parsley very big up there it seems!

Saturday morning I was not feeling so good, a bit tender round the edges, so hung back at the start of parkrun and took it easy. I had time to notice men in lycra, (seems taking it easy is not a good thing after all) I spent some time thinking about why men should not wear running tights and just came up with the answer that it looks ODD and not very nice. One gentleman I followed for a while had very thin lycra on, which enabled me to see more of his bottom than I desired to, so I pushed it on to pass him, to give him the treat of looking at my bottom instead! At mile 1.5 a man just in front of me cried out ‘come on’ in what I can only assume an ‘aloud’ positive conversation, which he did not mean to be ‘aloud’, scared the **** out of me though! Usually I am so caught up in going as fast as I possibly and it passes in a blur, this week was different.

Madam had a good run shaving 6 seconds off her PB and I was really pleased with my time, a year ago this would have been a flat-out, lung bursting, sick feeling, wobbly leg, heavy breathing PB, this week it was a gentle plod! Yay I am getting fitter!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Marathon Training, parkrun, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back down South

  1. Hedwigia says:

    Sounds like good running, with lots of philosophical musings! I couldn’t resist commenting on a post with a pig scale in it – took my back to my youth, growing up on a pig farm. But it made me wonder – how did you know it was a pig scale?

  2. Always good to share the views of bottoms. I don’t know…we have a few guys in lycra who I would be happy to run behind. Very nice bottoms hehe. And good job to Madam!

  3. I’m with you on the spandex. Don’t really want to see it sir! 😉 Photos are beautiful even if the run was not.

  4. Red Hen says:

    I’m not a fan of those tights, either. At least, not on guys. Or even male ballet dancers.
    Congrats on the extra fitness. I am the last year version of you!

  5. winsometahn says:

    It is such a great feeling when a once knackering run/pace becomes an easy plod – well done!

Leave a Reply

