53 Miles-Done

53 in a week that is. The thing is when you do a long run on a Sunday and the next one you have to do on the Saturday in the same week that means you clock, big miles! Yay.

This morning I ran to Killerton for parkrun, getting up at 5, leaving the house at 6. It was a warm morning. I now know what trainers to wear, what capri’s not to wear (ouch to chafing there!), which vest to wear, the gel to take and the drink also. The route was actually quite nice in the respect that it was actually quite flat. I got to Killerton with 13 miles done and almost an hour early, after a quick comfort stop I headed out on the parkrun course doing it clockwise arriving at the start with time to chat to Madam who had got a lift there and other club members. Then it was off to do it anti-clockwise. I started way at the back. Plodding. It was nice actually and the strategy of running parkrun at the end of a long run is such a good idea for two reasons:-

  1. Makes you run a good pace for miles 17,18,19 rather than actually dying slooooooooooowly
  2. LSR is done and dusted by 9:30 a.m, leaving you with the rest of the day to bake cakes, mow the lawn and generally keep moving for fear if you sat down you might seize up totally.

Pleased with my overall average pace, not long to go now, not many long runs to fit in. Don’t panic Shaz!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Marathon Training, parkrun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 53 Miles-Done

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Wow! Inspiring!!! Blimmingheck! That’s a lot of miles!!! 😉

  2. That is very good going. I am impressed with the committment.
    I ran just the parkrun bit today and felt like not moving for the rest of the day!

  3. Tubontherun says:

    Wow! That is brilliant! Hope you didn’t seize up when you finally did sit down.

  4. plustenner says:

    well done! amazing mileage

  5. Red Hen says:

    Wow! Great going! What a dedicated girl you are!I hope you realise how fantastically well you are doing.

  6. iwalkicycle says:

    Wow! You are amazing! Well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

