Newquay

This morning I went on a running adventure, map clutched in hand. In Cornwall it seems they are adverse to erecting footpath signs, the first three I set out to find were the invisible kind. Undeterred I headed in to the village where I managed to find a Bridleway and from there the path. It was a fantastic run with pretty paths,

IMG_0700.JPG
Interesting obstacles, fall off this Shaz and it will HURT.

IMG_0701.JPG
The obligatory hill or two or three or four

IMG_0702.JPG
And the even more obligatory beautiful scenery

IMG_0703.JPG
With the weather forecast being less than sunny (typical British summer, not for the first time I find myself wondering why we stay in the UK, then I remember the roof needed replacing this year so we could stay dry indoors!) we set off to Newquay (not my favourite Cornwall place) for a Sea Safari.
Before we even got on the boat we saw this Seal, I considered asking for a refund and going shopping instead!

IMG_0006.JPG
But we got on the boat and had two, interesting, informative, cold and wind blasted hours aboard spotting the wildlife. Seeing the coast looking in rather than out always interests me. Great to see these seals sunning themselves (ok I exaggerate,-warming themselves) on the rocks.

IMG_0089.JPG
The hot chocolate we had once on terra firma was much needed.
Today in Newquay it was RNLI day and we were very lucky to see the lifeboat from Padstow and the helicopter in action.

IMG_0753.JPG

IMG_0741.JPG

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Photography, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Newquay

  1. One day when the roof doesn’t need fixing, escape the British winter and come for a thaw out in Australia 🙂 Great photos, those tracks just make you want to run them…not sure about the interesting steps…. nice to look at but a bit tricky I’m sure.

  2. paigesato says:

    Love the seals, and the scenery!

  3. Red Hen says:

    Oh those lovely photos confirm for me why you’d want a staycation. Happy running this week. It’s great to try out some new spots, isn’t it? And even that’s easier when you holiday on your own patch.

  4. Very nice. Almost as nice as Devon.
    😉

Leave a Reply

