New Camera

A couple of months ago saw the sudden death of my trusty camera. Cause of death? Camera suicide. There I was on Woolacombe beach snapping away and it leapt out of my hands on to the wet sand. Well you know what sand is like it gets in to every nook, cranny and crevice, us humans can shower off to dispel it, not possible with the camera. A lengthy dissection took place involving itty bitty screwdrivers and itty bitty screws. It sat for a week in the operating theatre before hubby told me there was nothing further he could do for it.

Since then I have trolled the internet and primarily Amazon to get a replacement. This arrived Wednesday night, when all I had time to do was charge it. It is a Nikon Coolpix S5300 in a fetching burgundy colour. The instruction book is either a) brief basic one in over 100 languages, handy when you can only ready one or  b) 264 page one you can view on-line! So handy when you are out and about and can’t work out how to do things!

Friday Madam and I headed off to the Butterfly and Otter place so I could play with my new toy.

The Butterflies were amazing, but even more so were the Chrysalis hanging like socks on the washing line,

DSCN0024

if you stood long enough, one would start to twitch and then out would ‘pop a beautiful butterfly’ (just like the hungry caterpillar Annie!) there it would hang slowly straightening and drying its wings. Very captivating.

The Otters? Well they were just cute!

DSCN0063

We watched them all be fed and learnt a lot about them from their keeper.

Loving the new camera, the photos are so clear even using the maximum zoom, now all I need to do is read the instructions!

(PS-Parkrun this morning was successful:- Madam got her best time this year, I got my best time on this new old course, Madam’s running buddy who ran with me got a PB and her brother who is not eight yet ran with his Dad and got his first sub 30 minute time! Great start to the weekend. Tomorrow is an early start for me to fit in a long run before Madam’s competition. I fear I might be running with Bertha’s tail, hope she is all worn out by then!)

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Photography, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Camera

  1. Mavis hall says:

    Love the new camera – I’m up for lessons and maybe a new Christmas present but don’t tell father!!

  2. Gorgeous photos – just love the Otters, so cute. And fabulous parkrunning 🙂

  3. plustenner says:

    what beautiful butterflies!

  4. Great photos. The otter sanctuary is a great place, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

