This one is for the Relics

Apologies to the blogging community, but this one is for Mum and Dad as they will know the running route we did at running club.

Last nights club run was to start from Branscombe, a place we all know and love.

Out the village hall car park we run UP the hill to the Church, where we paused for a while just to allow our lungs to recover, nothing like an up hill to get the breathing going. We then went through the graveyard, over the stile in to the field and up, vertically to the next stile. Once over this it was left and up before eventually going down the stairway to heaven, to the Sea Shanty. This is the view at this point.

20140722-180113-64873370.jpg
My heart sank whilst at the Shanty, which way would we go? “Please tell me we are not running up there” I said, looking up the hill towards Beer. “No, but you may wish we were” came the reply, “we are going along the beach”.
Now I hate walking on those stones but running on them was so much worse, shifting and sapping the energy out of our legs as we made our way up the beach

20140722-200407-72247433.jpg.
We run for about a mile on this stuff before heading up the path on the cliff, (the relics will remember this path) we continued (note I am not using the word ‘ran’) up this narrow stepped path until we got to the top of the cliff and this view.

20140722-200639-72399831.jpg
We were at this point given an option, head back to the car park or continue on to Beer Head, being the hardcore runner that I am I opted to go on to Beer Head and here is the proof.

20140722-200822-72502185.jpg
Then it was back up the hill by the coastguard cottages in Beer to the top path and then down back to Bransombe.
Well relics, little did I know when I dragged you on this route last year, that shortly I would be running it!
It was a beautiful run and this

20140722-201048-72648085.jpg
At the end of it has never tasted so good.
When I got home and reported to the family where I had run, hubby remarked “you deserve a medal”, might just have to settle for the doughnut!

Well Mum and Dad I thought of you all the way, and knew you would love that I had to run this hard route. What goes around comes around! XXXXXXX

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This one is for the Relics

  1. Mavis hall says:

    Just love it!!xxxx wish we were younger to keep up with you!

  2. Red Hen says:

    For some reason Sharon, I can see your first pic-and it’s fabulous by the way-but the other ones won’t load. The problem could well be on my end. I’ll check later.

    Love that your ran this for your folks!

  3. paigesato says:

    no beer on Beer Head? That’s a pity!

  4. Wowsers I’d rather run up a hill than along the pebbles on the beach – good job!

  5. Jason says:

    That is a glorious looking donut – well done!

  6. Tubontherun says:

    You are bonkers! Beautiful views though, and a fabulous looking doughnut!

  7. Diana says:

    Good for you…..why am I not surprised the FIRST comment if from your “proud as a peacock”, Mum!!! AND, I will defend your folks, they are NOT relics!!! LOL xoxo

Leave a Reply

