DNS

A couple of months back the very nice people from ‘The New balance Team at Gung Ho’ asked me if I would be interested in running the British London 10K this year for free. I love anything FREE so said yes please. Quickly planned a girlie weekend in London with my friend and was set to go until the last couple of weeks where events have taken over.

Work has been stupid busy, Madam is going away with the school (to London) on Monday so I really need to be here to pack. I realised I was not going to make it, without some serious damage to my sanity and my family relationships. Sometimes I need to realise that I can’t do it all, as much as I want to and as hubby said last week when he cam in from work and found me, working on the lap top, icing cupcakes and making Madam’s dinner ‘sometimes you take on too much’.  The penny dropped and so  I fired off an email offering my apologies and felt so much better once I had done that. It is a shame I really wanted to do it and have a weekend away of course but guess there will be others. My first DNS, had to happen some time.

This week has been full of long work days, two club runs, and one cycle ride. My week was brightened by these cuties in the garden.

poppies

Last year madam collected the poppy seeds from the poppy heads in to a container and then promptly kicked it over, this is the result! Thinking of erecting a small fence round them so I do not mow them down when I next cut the grass.

Roll on the summer holiday. Seven work days and counting!

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DNS

  1. paigesato says:

    it’s hard to say no sometimes, and even harder to back out of a yes, so kudos to you for figuring this out. The “sometimes you take on too much” comment made me giggle. I had a boss (one who was close in age to me, whose kids were my kids’ ages) who once asked when he poked his head into my office and saw me pulling out my eyebrows from frustration: “how’s that burning the candle at both ends thing going for ya?”

  2. Red Hen says:

    Oh, I am so with you on planning to do something and Life taking over! Can’t wait to have my non busy days back, like I had, before I had the kids, and thought I was busy!

  3. Good call Shaz, not an easy thing to do x

  4. Tubontherun says:

    Lovely poppies! Sounds like a good call!

Leave a Reply

