Marathon Training Begins

Five days since since the end of June, five whole days without blogging, which has been lovely, but I have been running!

Wednesday was the running club’s Woodland Relay. It was a good club turnout mainly because we were told rather than asked if we would do it, a strategy that obviously worked. Someone spent a lot of time and tippex in creating teams of three, each to run the almost 2.5 mile lap. The idea is to split people evenly, including a fast, medium and slow, so that there is always people out on the course. That is the theory. However when I came to do my lap (I was last to go) everyone was pretty much at the end! It was fun watching and fun participating. Fun consuming the cakes at the finish line also!

I still have yet to create/find a marathon training plan but yesterday I set off on a long slow run. I would like to say I ran 15.5 miles but I think more accurately I should say I covered 15.5 miles, to use the verb ‘ran’ would be an exaggeration. Granted the terrain was tough, but really should I find it that tough? Most annoying. It was a beautiful route that had everything, except a happy runner (briefly happy went I spotted a kingfisher flying up the stream, flashing his blueness at me) here’s hoping it was just a blip and the next time running this route will be a breeze.

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Marathon Training Begins

  1. plustenner says:

    15.5 is great mileage! well done x

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Wow! On both accounts… Miles and pics!

  3. All the best with the start of your training! I’ll be cheering you all the way through!!!

  4. emilygoesforit says:

    Lovely pics and what a distance! Sheesh I’d be chuffed with that. One day lol x

  5. plustenner says:

    great mileage x

  6. abradypus says:

    Poppies, trees, cakes and a long run. Perfect. And next time you run the route, it will be a breeze 😉

Leave a Reply

