Running with Ron Hill

Recently I was online trying to purchase Madam a new wet suit, seeing I was having to pay for postage I decided to peruse the running gear, starting off with the sale items then working my way up.

I found these Ron Hill running Capris

capris

it seemed fitting that during a month of exercise I buy my first Ron Hill product. Ron Hill won a gold medal in the commonwealth games in 1970  and was the first Britain to win the Boston marathon but maybe more amazingly has run every day since December 1964, that is almost 50 years, think on that when you next moan about athoning, but then he might not blog every day! Not that hardcore then! Ron has an extensive range of running apparel.

 

 

Until now I have stuck to the cheap and cheerful running gear, cheap and cheerful is not however an expression to use with these capris, infact when they arrived I checked them all over for the gold leaf that surely they must have somewhere to warrant that amount of money but have yet to find it!

I love lots about them, the flattering V to hold the belly back, the two coloured waistband-even though it would remain unseen

V linethe drawstring waistdrawstring

 

to keep them up over the belly that is being held back. I love a pocket to hold my key, phone, gel, sweets, wipes and the kitchen sink and this one is bug enough and like Mary Poppin’s bag seems to go forever.pocket

 

but I was worried about the gussetgussett the chaffing possibilities with this are endless and who needs chaffing? Especially there.

I wore these for 3 miles on Saturday, 11 miles on Sunday and 6 miles tonight. Happy to report, no chaffing, they are a great fit, feel comfy, sometimes you have to bite the bullet and splurge on some quality gear, I am glad I did and will be surfing the net at length for more Ron Hill gear, but this time in the sales. I recommend running with Ron.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Running with Ron Hill

  1. 50 years! After 23 days I’m ready to quit!!!!

  2. plustenner says:

    they look great! 50 years?!?

  3. Red Hen says:

    Interesting re Ron Hill, Sharon. I glazed over the price tags on some of his stuff before and thought yep, maybe some day. But, I get so much wear out of my capris, maybe it’s time to invest. Big pockets and belly cover does it for me every time!

  4. He he…Ron Hill = slacker 🙂

  5. runtezza says:

    Gotta look the part! I still rock a pair of Ron Hill vintage tracksters circa 1992 (and I got them in a sale :)) Not that I am a tight wad or owt, mind.. The newer ones with a pocket are a distinct improvement though.

  6. paigesato says:

    do they have that unending elastic drawstring (so that it can’t come through the pants)? I can’t quite figure out how to tie those….

  7. abradypus says:

    It’s the pockets that do it for me. I’ve two (very ancient) pairs and they are firm favourites.

Leave a Reply

