Summer Solstice

Today being a Saturday there is absolutely no prizes for guessing what the Juneathon activity was for today.

I was awake very early with stomach issues, I will spare you the details suffice to say I visited the little room frequently and it was not pretty. We sat on a tree trunk at Killerton, before the start in the sunshine and Madam became the adult and told me I was silly to run, when I mentioned I was not feeling great. The ironic thing was that when I tried to tell her 5 minutes earlier that it would be hot and to take it easy I was given the impression that I should not give advice! Pot kettle black.

As it was summer solstice we were meant to dress as hippys, floral shirts, flowers, flared trousers were a plenty. One dog even got in on the act wearing a skirt! It really is quite scary what some people have in their wardrobes. No flowers for us just running gear.

I took it easy but was pleased to get round with my second fastest time on the old now the new course. One day I will turn up and feel fine and give it some welly!

The rest of my day was spent, weeding, cutting the grass, trimming the lawn edge and general garden tidying.

Then it was off to the seaside for fish ‘n’ chips.

Lets hope we get more of the same tomorrow.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Juneathon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Summer Solstice

  1. iwalkicycle says:

    Glad you’re feeling better and well done on the time!

  2. rundelrun says:

    yummers! I’m sorry… don’t get me wrong, I like Parkrun as much as the next runner, but… fish’n’chips.. 🙂

  3. Red Hen says:

    I see you’re enjoying the summer just as much as I am here. Wonderful weather. Long may it continue.

  4. paigesato says:

    every time i see people in costumes, I’m always amazed at their closets!

  5. Looks beautiful. I hope you are feeling better.

  6. Stomach trouble and running is a big challenge! Good on you for getting a good time.

  7. plustenner says:

    sounds like a perfect day – apart from the early morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

