Beach

This morning we headed to North Devon to one of our favourite beaches – Woolacombe. For my Juneathon effort I considered a Baywatch impression

Capture now as much as I would like to think it

would be like that (left), in reality it would

be more like this. (below)2

but in a more grey hair old lady kind of way! In the end I opted for a safer option for the beach visitors and played bat and ball with Madam which believe me is as hard and energetic as any 3 mile run.

Madam and hubby spent some time in the sea body boarding, I have a fear of being harpooned by a passing whaling ship so refuse to squeeze in to a wet suit, I read my Runner’s World magazine instead which actually should count as a Juneathon activity also.

It was a lovely day, so lucky to live 90 minutes from this.

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Juneathon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Beach

  1. Lucky you!! We have been looking to see if we could get a spot at Woolcombe for our summer hols *fumes with jealously*.

  2. iwalkicycle says:

    Wow! It looks divine! We spent a large part of our day on the M25 in comparison! Very jealous! 🙂

  3. winsometahn says:

    Looks fabulous, I’m very jealous!

  4. paigesato says:

    what are the water temps? swim-able? It looks like a lovely day!

    • shazruns says:

      There was some braver than I in sea, most people have wet suits so can stay out for longer. It’s early in year but bbc news said temp was 15 degrees c which is quite warm considering the time of year.

      • paigesato says:

        that’s still pretty chilly. But it’s lovely to see gray ocean. Growing up in Maine, I had always thought those pics of the bright blue ocean were a joke. Until the one time I went to Bermuda. And the realization sunk in…omg, there are places with ocean that’s actually warm.

  5. Aprilruns says:

    Don’t ever doubt reading Runners is a proper Athon activity or I am screwed…

  6. shazruns says:

    Thought it must count, research is so important

Leave a Reply

