The Talaton Trotter

For those of you stopping by expecting to read yet another blog (yawn) about my adventures at Killerton parkrun, after all it is Saturday, well I am sorry in a change to our normal schedule, Madam and I did the Talaton Trotter. (well she did the weiner!)

Talaton is the village over from ours so seemed rude for me not to give it a whirl. Kick off time 12 pm, right in the heat of the day so I shelved the parkrun for a week. (insert sad face here). Previous years it has been a 6 mile run, but in honour of my debut they added on another mile, hooray.

It was hot. The first mile took in a hill (no surprise there), but this one was through a farmers field, he had kindly cut the long long grass, but not so kindly left it laying on the ground. By the time I got to the top of the hill I had enough grass around my feet to fill a small rabbit hutch. That’s the problem with little legs lifting it over the stuff was just not possible. That part was tough. The run took in roads, farm tracks, mud, stony paths, river paths, forest tracks, some shade, some bight not unrelenting sun, some up hills, some down hills. A true multi terrain course.

I managed to finish way down the field, as expected, but did come in, in a time I was pleased with (this happens rarely) even got cheered over the finish line, no medal but a lovely piece of home made carrot cake. You can’t get better than that.

Madam was lead girl until the mud ate her trainer. She was not pleased to come in second, but did well to recover and now knows to tie up the trainers really tight!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Talaton Trotter

  1. Gutted about the trainer!

    When I did the London Marathon I needed to stop and tie my shoelace and I ended up coming in 15,675th instead of 2nd… so she did well!

  2. iwalkicycle says:

    7 miles of heat and hill, well done! Well done too Madam too, shame about the trainer 😦

  3. winsometahn says:

    Sounds like a fun course, well done. I bet that carrot cake was amazing!

  4. Way to finish! I think carrot cake could be better than a medal. 🙂

  5. RubySneakers says:

    Well done! One of the best things (for me) about being a ‘finish way down the field’ person is the cheering at the finish line. It’s so lovely and encouraging. Those fast people are missing out. 😉

  6. Carrot cake instead of a medal! All races should do this!

  7. Red Hen says:

    Seven miles on grass-and wading through cut grass-is one tough run.

  8. abradypus says:

    Damn that trainer-eating mud!

Leave a Reply

