Failure in Farway

I started my day off with another lovely bike ride on the lanes of Devon, am loving this kind of start to my day. This coupled with a pedal to the shop at lunch time means I clocked up 10 miles today.

Tonight’s club run was to start at a village called Farway, I am going to rename it ‘too dam Faraway’. The farm gods were against me-I got stuck behind a tractor. The navigation gods were against me-I got lost. The SAT NAV gods were against me- it could not find a satellite. All this meant I was late and I missed the club, just as I pulled in the village I saw legs disappearing up the road, I parked the car and tried to catch up with them. No luck there. I was gutted it was a beautiful evening, perfect for a club run, instead I pootled around the lanes on my own, managing 3 miles. On the upside I got to give these a trip out of the porch.

DSCN4376

Maybe its as well I was home early, tomorrow I am off to Southampton for two days this means a 5 am wake up, so no bike ride in the morning to me for me.

Things I have learnt today

  • Even on a bike you still have to stop in the hedge when you meet a bus or lorry
  • My belly sweats when I ride my bike-ewwww
  • Don’t rely on a SAT NAV
  • Don’t rely on my memory when it comes to map reading
  • Leave an extra 10 minutes to allow for tractor traffic
  • Missing a club run makes me grumpy
About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Failure in Farway

  1. winsometahn says:

    Very pretty shoes, I expect to see a photo of them post-parkrun!

  2. emilygoesforit says:

    Very nice trainers. I have major trainer envy

  3. plustenner says:

    I can totally empathise with the getting lost – it has happened to me far too many times 🙂 love the shoes!! Have fun in Southampton

  4. sudebaker says:

    I’m still stuck on “pootled”. Were any poodles harmed during your run?

  5. Red Hen says:

    Ah,belly sweats… A sure sign of a great workout!

  6. abradypus says:

    Grrr about the tractor but yay about the bike and lovely shoes.

Leave a Reply

