Motorways, Mud and more exercise

Yesterday I blogged in the morning, I blogged about the previous days second run, would this carry forward to count as Sundays activity. I feared not. How about watching madam be active, would this count towards day 8 of June’s exercise? Maybe a little tenuous. In that case dear reader the activity I will log for Sunday the 8th of June will be a sprint to the car. This was not any normal sprint oh no this was a hard-core sprint. A sprint with a back pack on, carrying a boot bag, in the torrential rain, with sandals on, then there was the return trip, sprinting with a backpack on, carrying a boot bag, wearing wet sandals AND carrying an umbrella. Yep hard-core.

Today saw me working away from the house, this involved a journey up the M5 and the M4, The M4 had a lane closed going East bound so I spent sometime seething about the 40 mile an hour  flashing restriction signs, that is really irritating when you are stationary and would love to do 10mph! I contemplated doing some weeding or even a litter pick whilst parked. Eventually I made it to Swindon after negotiating their roundabouts, seriously who ever designed 6 roundabouts around one roundabout is one messed up person and definitely not a driver. I spent the day in a warm classroom wishing I could go for a lunch time cycle ride. I also spent sometime watching my foot swell up, it appears it objects to the driving followed by the standing.

Got home in time for running club, squeezed my foot in my old trainers and off we went. lovely 6 mile run, just knew it was too good when at mile 5.5 my feet were dry and trainers mud free. Then we hit the boggy field. The plan, was to go across the middle as quick as we could, mmmm not as easy as that and more than one person sunk or fell, all good fun though. Took me some time to realise that the ‘rural’ smell on the way home was my trainers! Time for them to have a spin in the washing machine I think.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Motorways, Mud and more exercise

  1. plustenner says:

    what a busy day! well done on your 6 miles 🙂

  2. iwalkicycle says:

    Ooooh I hate being stuck in traffic! Love your plans e.g. weeding – might think of that myself next time I am stuck!

  3. rundelrun says:

    … sounds like you’re for Selection!!

  4. winsometahn says:

    I bet the 6 miles were heaven after a day of sitting in traffic and classroom!

  5. Being in a classroom on a warm day? Torture especially after a tedious drive. Have fun cleaning the shoes 🙂

  6. Club run sounds great!

  7. Tubontherun says:

    I hate the flashing signs – it’s like they’re mocking you.

Leave a Reply

