The Umborne Ug

it was very muddy, boggy, hilly, beautiful, hard, fun, slippy and hot.

UU

I knew that it was hilly, I knew there were two hills to walk up, in fact they lied there was three hills I had to walk up, one which I struggled to do even that and would have been much quicker on hands and knees and another that was muddy, slippy that I only got up by pulling myself up using the trees as leverage! Due to the up hills the downs were amazing coupled with stunning views, which almost tempted me to sing ‘the hills are alive’ but didn’t due to lack of breathe. Viewing the stats on Garmin mile 6 was my quickest by far, see above as to why very pleased my legs still had it in them after the previous 5 miles (and the 3 at Killerton) Cider was on offer (we are in Devon) at the top of the steepest hill and no I did not have any!

The results are in and although the time slower than I thought due to pausing at gates and for cars I came second for my age, 10th female, and once they age graded the time (yes I am that old) I was 51 overall with an adjusted time of 54:51 sometimes it pays to be old.

Whilst I was off enjoying myself (!) madam did the fun run and came in first female, she was happy with her medal, goodie bag containing sweets and an energy drink (oh joy) and a certificate. Great way to spend a Saturday night

Now I did two runs yesterday so am assuming one will carry forward for todays effort? Failing that todays effort will be watching Madam do high jump, shot and 800 metres. If that won’t count I will try and get out on the bike when I get home.

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Juneathon, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Umborne Ug

  1. abradypus says:

    That is one *hilly* 10k.

  2. Wow! Well done to madam!
    Great going.
    Well done to you to of course.

  3. iwalkicycle says:

    That was some seriously serious Juneathon activity! Well done! 🙂

  4. Lesley says:

    Well done xxx

  5. winsometahn says:

    Well done to both of you on great runs!

  6. runtezza says:

    Shaztastic effort! That is a very scary-looking graph.

  7. plustenner says:

    well done to you both!!

  8. Gosh! Awesome hills! Well done. I can definitely see three in the profile.

  9. Pingback: Umborne Ug Second Edition | shazruns

Leave a Reply

