31st May or in other words….

Juneathon Eve.

There has been much uming, aahring, pondering, debating and thinking going on by myself as to whether to Juneathon or not.

For me previously, the athons have meant a run every day, in fact in January I ran every day, the least I ran in a day was three miles, prior to that athon, a mile had counted or even a run to the shop in flip-flops! Others (some call them cheats) have counted a plank in pjs, a dressing gown dash in the garden or car dancing as their daily activity. (others call them slackers) This June I shall be doing things slightly differently, due to work sending me on a tour of the south-west and a family wedding somewhat inconveniently occurring towards the end of the month, but I shan’t cheat or be a slacker – well that’s the plan.

It is recommended by those that know to have a plan. Check here and here for their other sound advice. My plan is to run or cycle everyday, my foot would not cope with 30 days of running, I plan to blog too every day (apologies in advance), no FB post or twitter usage here BUT there will be lots of photos, doors, windows and chimneys will all make an appearance, so if you like the written word, maybe stop by again in July, but if you like pictures of all things Devon then the next 30 days will be up your street.

Today of course was parkrun day (curses to June for not starting on a Saturday) now last week when after a three week absence, Madam returned to do the 5k, that day she made an appearance as one of the seven Dwarfs, she was not Doc, Sleepy, Bashful, Sneezy, Dopey, or Happy, definitely not Happy, it made for a miserable run. This week I came up with a cunning plan. (the much unmentioned Dwarf- Sneaky) A friend from running club has a daughter who does Killerton, she is a couple of years younger than Madam and her aim is to beat Madam’s PB. I asked her if she would run with Madam for me and gave her permission to use physical abuse should madam try and stop to walk. This was such a win win situation. I had a lovely stress free run, Madam and I were talking at the end, and Madam’s running partner got a PB by 11 seconds! Oh and I beat them!

Gotta love parkrun

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Juneathon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 31st May or in other words….

  1. Good luck! I look forward to spending the month with you!

  2. winsometahn says:

    Woohoo, I’m glad you’re doing Juneathon, looking forward to your photos!

  3. Red Hen says:

    Hi Sharon! Fellow Junethoner here too! May be get the weather for all the jogging and the time for all the blogging! Best of luck!

  4. Good luck.

    There is nothing wrong with blog posts full of photos and very few words (this is a tactic I recently employed when faced with a blank screen, about 15 minutes of spare time and a serious sense of humour failure about my lack of anything much to say). And it worked fine! Devon is very photogenic.

    Just don’t try rhyming blog posts. Tried it once in the middle of my one and only ‘athon’ and it still remains my least-read post ever. Looking forward to seeing your Juneathon photo-athon.

  5. abradypus says:

    Very sneaky. Love it.

Leave a Reply

